Come A Long Way
George Nooks
Cou$ins Records
November 19, 2006

George Nooks Track list
  1. This Time
  2. Dont Give Up
  3. My Sweet Lord
  4. Honest I Do
  5. Baltimore
  6. Swept Away
  7. Come A Long Way
  8. Tonight Is The Night
  9. I Remember
  10. One More Day
  11. Running Up And Down
  12. Swept Away Remix
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
Born in Kingston, Jamaica, some 40-odd years ago and raised in St. Andrew, George Nooks' inspiration to sing came from the likes of Al Green, Melvin & The Blue Notes, Ken Boothe, Bob Marley and Dennis Brown. In the seventies George Nooks started out as the deejay Prince Mohammed, voicing numerous hit tunes for producer Joe Gibbs, with one of his biggest hits being "Forty Leg Inna Mi Head". In the eighties he kept a low profile and in the early nineties he resurfaced as a singer, singing under his real name, George Nooks, scoring with the top ten hit "I Don't Care", but he's probably best known for his smash cover hit 'God Is Standing By'. The track was originally done by Ben E. King and then covered by Al Green before George Nooks gave it a Reggae slant and made it The Star newspaper's 'Record of the Year' in Jamaica for 2002.

Romance singer George Nooks in collaboration with Cou$ins Records drops a new album entitled Come A Long Way", which starts off with This Time over a new version of the Heptones' "Get In The Groove" riddim. Don't Give Up, bringing the message to stay positive, is followed by the sing-a-long tune My Sweet Lord. Nooks really shines on Baltimore across the "Baltimore" riddim. The album title track Come A Long Way displays Nooks fine conversion talent of roots and romance over the "Natural Fact" riddim, flowing over in the beautiful Tonight Is The Night. Really worth listening to is the roots influenced Running Up And Down.

With this album veteran singer George Nooks stays on top.