Album review
Get It Together
Dub Station & Sonbeam
Dub Station Music
27 - 03 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Friend For Life
  2. Mama
  3. See Us Rise
  4. Dangerous
  5. Get It Together
  6. Center Of Attraction
  7. Rastafari Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Formed by Kyle Russell, Boston based band Dub Station has arguably become one of the top US-Based reggae-dancehall backing bands. The group has now backed major dancehall; roots and culture; and foundation singers; and has opened for most of the key players in the reggae business. Dub Station is also proud to have worked with over 5 dozen domestically based vocalists. Soloists and "crews", men and women from Jamaican rap-stylle DJ's to Gospel-reggae artists to all-original singer-songwriters and dub poets, to cover-tune crowd-pleasers. "Son of God; Beam of Light"- the name passed via wise dread Sonbeam started out vocal sparring in Jamaica. After working a few stage shows with Dub Station, the project "Get It Together" was born. This (mini)album is the band's seventh release and features some 7 fine tracks, ranging from reggae, dancehall and r&b/hip-hop flavored tunes. Some of the themes found here are the love between man and woman (Center Of Attraction) and the legalisation of ganja (Get It Together). Furthermore interesting tunes are Rastafari Love (featuring Jah-I) which closes the album and happens to be an original, traditional style Nyabinghi chant and Mama, a beautiful tribute to the singer's mother. Dangerous is an eye-catching dancehall flavored tune.
"Get It Together'" is an enjoyabe album, so check it out !

Teacher & Mr. T.          Buy the CD