Album review
Ghetto Life
Jah Cure
VP Records-Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Every Song I Sing
  2. King In This Jungle featuring Sizzla
  3. Western Region
  4. Zion Way
  5. Run Come Love Me featuring Jah Mason
  6. Zion Await
  7. Hail To My King
  8. Trust Me
  9. Ghetto Life
  10. How Can I
  11. The Love Of My Life
  12. Hanging Slowly
  13. Dung In Deh
  14. Vibes Man A Build
  15. Keep On
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

At last... it has hit the streets... "Ghetto Life"... the Beres Hammond produced album of reggae singer Siccature Alcock popularly known as Jah Cure. The latter is a Rastafarian singer hailing from Montego Bay, who grew up in Kingston, Jamaica. In his early teens he was already on the scene, going to the studio and linking with a lot of artists. In 1997, then being 18 years old, he first gained wider recognition with the single "King In This Jungle", done in combination with Sizzla and produced by Beres Hammond. More powerful modern roots singles followed and the young singer was making such a serious impact that he seemed set for a bright future. However, his thriving career was suddenly stopped when he was arrested and put into prison for 15 years in April 1999.
As Jah Cure's real life story has been plagued with strife and challenge, it's obvious that these feelings come through in his music as can be experienced while listening to "Ghetto Life". This second studio album confirms what his solid debut set "Free Jah's Cure, The Album, The Truth" already indicated... this artist can write and sing songs of the highest quality! "Ghetto Life" is a stunning set full of great songs and well built riddims, a true musical masterpiece. Beres Hammond's "Harmony House" label has brought us some of the best roots and traditional style rub-a-dub singles including Jah Cure & Sizzla's brilliant "Kings In This Jungle", Cure's beautiful "Zion Await" and his classical duet with Jah Mason titled "Run Come Love Me", all featured here alongside other great Jah Cure singles such as "Hanging Slowly", "Dung In Deh" and the awesome, Donovan Germain produced "Zion Way". Jah Cure's crying vocal style furthermore shines in "Western Region", "Trust Me", "Ghetto Life" and "How Can I".
All killers no fillers on this album thus providing great listening pleasure from beginning to end. Pure niceness all the way, one that urges you to push the repeat button over and over again. Contender for reggae album of the year!!

Teacher & Mr. T.