Album review
The Best Of Reggae Live
Gregory Isaacs
Innerbeat Music

Tracking list

  1. Introduction
  2. Intro - Medley
  3. One Man Against The World
  4. Let's Give It A Try
  5. Hard Drugs
  6. Red Roses For Gregory
  7. Stranger In Your Town
  8. Top Ten
  9. Private Secretary
  10. Don't Know Why I Love You
  11. Tune In
  12. Mr. Brown
  13. Night Nurse
  14. Oh What A Feeling
  15. Soon Forward
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Gregory Isaacs' musical career spans over three decades by now. Throughout this period of time the singer - born in 1951, Kingston, Jamaica - has produced a trailer load of reggae classics, which he cut for a variety of producers including Alvin Ranglin, Gussie Clarke, King Jammy, Sly & Robbie. Although he gained his nickname "Cool Ruler" from the way he delivered romantic ballads i.e. cool, leisurely, and always sounding vulnerable or pained by his adventures in love, he was also able to deliver great songs with a more cultural emphasis. Gregory Isaacs became a real international star in 1982 when he delivered his "Night Nurse" album. More great albums followed, but his rise to the top and the maintenance of this position also led to the near destruction of the singer's unique talents with the help of cocaine. Throughout the nineties he released too many albums which didn't live up to expectations, vocally and lyrically spoken. "The Best Of Reggae Live" contains plenty of classics like "Top Ten", "Night Nurse", "Tune In", "Mr. Brown" and "Oh What A Feeling", however this live registration doesn't capture Gregory Isaacs at his very best. It makes this a somewhat disappointing album although it's obvious that most of the singer's tunes have stood the test of time. A nice release to complete the collection of his fans, but far from essential.

Teacher & Mr. T.