Album review
Clinton Fearon & Boogie Brown Band
Give And Take
Sankofa Blackstar Musik
July 20 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Have A Little Faith - Intro
  2. Conqueror
  3. Give And Take
  4. Blood For Blood
  5. Movin' Up
  6. See Dem Deh
  7. Wages Of Love
  8. Parable Sound
  9. Whose Game Is It
  10. Feel The Spirit
  11. Rise Up
  12. Stop The Hate
  13. Show We Some Love
  14. Have A Little Faith - Outro
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Anyone who knows the history of reggae music is familiair with the name Clinton "Basie" Fearon. He was singer and bass player with the internationally renowned group The Gladiators, whith whom he recorded the singles "Freedom Train" and "Rockaman Soul" for Lloyd Daley's Matador label. The late Coxsone Dodd of Studio One produced their first full length album featuring Fearon as songwriter and vocalist on several songs including "Step Right Back". In 1974 The Gladiators went to Joe Gibbs' studio to record another album entitled "Proverbial Reggae". Fearon wrote many of the songs on this album and the producer Prince Tony Robinson insisted that he did the lead vocals for tracks such as "Can You Imagine How I Feel", "Stop Before You Go" and "Marvel Not". As musician he also worked for Lee "Scratch" Perry for whom he played on many of his best known songs, including "Roast Fish and Cornbread", which features one of Fearon's most famous bass lines. In 1989 he left Jamaica and moved to the the U.S., where he formed his own group, Boogie Brown Band, in 1993. Their debut album was a collection of 13 original songs entitled "Disturb The Devil", which was followed by "Mystic Whisper" in early 1997. Then they released their third album, a double CD entitled "What A System" in June of 1999.
Now here's Clinton Fearon & Boogie Brown Band's latest album, "Give And Take", definitely their best so far. We're treated to all new material that not only showcases Clinton's great songwriting skills but also demonstrates that the Boogie Brown Band is an extremely talented and tight playing group of musicians featuring Jeff DeMelle on bass, Clinton himself on guitar and percussion, Sergio Cuevas on drums, Barbara Kennedy on keyboards, and a sweet horn section. "Give And Take" is a clean, sharp and well produced album which offers pure righteous reggae music that inspires and uplifts. The cd has many highlights including crucial tracks such as ""Blood For Blood", dealing with violence and war in today's world, the awesome "See Dem Deh", the beautiful hymn "Wages Of Love", the excellent "Parable Sound" with its sweet harmonies and great horn parts, "Whose Game Is It" and the Bob Marley-like "Stop The Hate".
"Give And Take" is a good album that should not be ignored by the self-respecting roots reggae fan.

Teacher & Mr. T.