Give Some Love
Black Panther
Vikings Production/Corner Shop-Munich
August 2, 2007

Track list
  1. Humanity
  2. Remember
  3. Missing You
  4. What They Have Done
  5. Cheating
  6. Vanity Love
  7. Give Some Love
  8. Fold In Love
  9. No Dolly House
  10. Faith In You
  11. Rocky Rocky Road
  12. Peace Time
  13. In My World
  14. Give A Little Love
  15. Think About Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 2
Lebert Excel a.k.a Black Panther was born on July 19, 1975 in Mount Topie District War Sup Trelawny, Jamaica, where he also did his first performance at the Warsup All Age school in 1990. In 1993 he migrated to Old Harbour, St. Catherine, where he gripped reggae music to extend and utilized his talent to an unlimited state in the Creative Arts In Jamaica West Indies. In 1994 he got his first break in the industry when he recorded his first song "Raised The Dead" at the Peoples Choice Recording Studio in Spanish Town, St. Catherine, which was released on the Rose Rise Label.

Thirteen years later he records his 15 track debut album "Give Some Love" for Old Harbour based Vikings Production, released in France through an association with the French Corner Shop label and Nocturne distribution. Most of the tunes featured here deal with matters of the heart, but there's also some room for reality themes as expressed through the inclusion of songs like "Humanity" (one of the stand outs of this album), "Rocky Rocky Road", "Peace Time", the above par "What They Have Done", and the acoustic "Think About Love". Despite the fact that Black Panther surely ain't no copycat, you'll recognize strong influences in his vocal style. It's obvious that he's influenced by a wide range of artists including Jack Radics, Jah Cure, Pinchers, Sizzla, Bounty Killer and Buju Banton, and thus he can easily switch from deejaying to singing, which is fully displayed throughout this album.

Except for "No Dolly House" and "Peace Time", which are underpinned by fast driven dancehall oriented riddims, this set features 'live' played roots and lovers riddims, including updated versions of The Paragons' "You And Your Smiling Face" and Larry Marshal's "Throw Me Corn".

Overall opinion is that Black Panther delivers a nice debut set, but there's nothing included that causes real excitement.