Album review
Give Thanks
Denzil Dennis
Gospel Times-Jet Star

Tracking list

  1. Serve The Lord
  2. Have Mercy (We Pray Oh God)
  3. You Can't Be Beacon
  4. We Thank Thee
  5. Jordan Rivers
  6. Truth
  7. Books Of The Bible
  8. Medley (People Get Ready, Amen, Let The Power)
  9. I Must Have The Saviour With Me featuring Tony Rich
  10. That's The Way
  11. Thank You For My Life
  12. Give Thanks
  13. Happy Day
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

The first release on Jet Star's new subsidiary label Gospel Times, "Give Thanks", spreads the strong musical Christian messages of the London-based singer Denzil Dennis. Recorded at Jet Star's own Cave Studio and backed by such fine Reggae musicians as Mafia & Fluxy, Black Steel, Tony "Ruff Cut" Phillips, Dalton Browne, Winston 'Sax' Rose and Jermaine "Jah Son" Forde, Denzil Dennis delivers a satisfying effort. This goes not only for those who are into "religious" moods, but also for anyone who likes to listen to enjoyable and quality Reggae music. Denzil Dennis vocal performances are truly worth listening to as he happens to be a mature singer with a very soulful and appealing voice. This album features some real fine tunes - utilizing mainly revitalized riddims alongside some fresh originals - with "Serve The Lord", The Mighty Diamonds' rendition "Have Mercy (We Pray Oh God)", "Jordan Rivers" (across a wicked played "Real Rock" riddim), "Truth" and the title track "Give Thanks" being the standouts. Well worth checking out !

Teacher & Mr. T.