Glen Washington
Cou$ins Records - Black Arrow
February 16, 2010

Glen Washington - Vibes Track list
  1. Vibes
  2. Baby
  3. Nothing To Ditter Me
  4. I'm Willing
  5. Little Girl
  6. Jah Jah We Call On You
  7. Feel For You
  8. Good Old Days
  9. One Day
  10. Your Love
  11. Here I Go
  12. In The Beginning
  13. No One Else But You
  14. Fire Burning
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 6-
Very Good -Votes: 7-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 14
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Hailing from the Jamaican parish of Clarendon, Glen Washington is regarded by reggae fans internationally for his smooth lyrics and solid baritone delivery. The comparison with the similarly seasoned voice of Beres Hammond -- actually one of his fellow artists whom he openly admires -- is often drawn, but there's enough to conclude that he's an emotive, full-voiced singer with an own style.

Glen Washington's first recording was actually years before his 1997 released debut album, the Coxsone Dodd produced "Brother To Brother" set for the Studio One label. He was a drummer before he briefly came to the attention of the reggae massive as a singer with the rootsy "Rockers Nuh Crackers", a sizeable hit recorded for producer Joe Gibbs back in 1978. Having received general acclaim with the release of his "Brother To Brother" album, which succesfully re-established a career lain dormant for two decades, Glen Washington started to receive offers from other production houses to record for them.

It was for producers Lloyd & Michelle Campbell of the 'Joe Fraser' label that he recorded some real fine albums including "Get Next To Me", "Number One Girl", "Your Love" and "Wanna Be Loved" and that's where last year "Destiny" was released. And now Kemar 'DJ Flava' McGregor's Flava Music and No Doubt Records who seemed to have struck a firm deal with VP Records (at least for the one-riddim albums) suddenly license this Glen Washington album to Donville Davis' Cou$ins Records, the outlet for many of the earlier DJ Flava riddims.

Great roots and lovers here by the smooth voiced singer over riddims that ruled the airwaves over the last couple of years, like "Vibes" over No Doubt's latest scorcher the 'Ghetto'-riddim, not included on the one-riddim album!, "Baby" over 'Rocksteady', "Nothing To Ditter Me" over 'Drop It', "I'm Willing" over 'Rub-A-Dub' and more beauties over half of it known Kemar McGregor riddims (there's also the beautiful '83 Riddim' for "Feel For You") and half of them hopefully (and undoubtedly) soon to be released riddims, like the partially vocodered "Good Old Days" and other striking brilliant tunes. This is one of this magnificent singer's albums with lots of well sung lovers tunes and some great roots over excellent riddims by one of the smoothest producers currently Kemar 'DJ Flava' McGregor for his No Doubt Records.