Album review
Global Messenger
Macka B
22 - 08 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Power Of The Mind featuring Carol Thompson
  2. Concious Woman
  3. So Many Things featuring Carol Thompson
  4. Effects Of Slavery
  5. Mother Of Civilisation featuring Carol Thompson
  6. Rasta Postman
  7. Do You Feel Irie ?
  8. J'Adore Le Reggae
  9. Dem Kinda Blackman
  10. Christmas Cancelled
  11. The Human Touch
  12. 4 Minute Vacation featuring Nolan Irie
  13. Beaucoup D'amour
  14. Welcome The Grey
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

"Global Messenger" is Macka B's fourteenth album on the "Ariwa Sounds" label, since this by now renown UK chatter started his successful collaboration with Neil Fraser, probably better known as the Mad Professor, some 15 years ago. Once again the duo has managed to deliver a mighty piece of work, one that can be qualified as one of the best albums Macka B has delivered so far. The album opener, the awesome "Power Of The Mind" (which opens with the words "Anything one can concieve, one can achieve"), sets the pace for a well varied and enjoyable musical journey which mainly takes the listener along cultural themes in solid songs like "Mother Of Civilisation", "Rasta Postman" and "Effects Of Slavery". In parts of "Power Of The Mind", and also with "J'Adore Le Reggae" and "Beaucoup d'Amour", Macka B demonstrates his multilingual capabilities and knowledge of different cultures. Lyrically spoken "Global Messenger" contains incisive and insightful social comment and unique witty critiscism of the system. Macka B's vocal delivery is underpinned by decent riddims, laid by such fine session musicians like Mafia & Fluxy, Jazzwad, Fish, Steven Wright and Black Steel and expertly mixed by the MP.

Teacher & Mr. T.