Album review
Prince Alla
Jah Warrior

Tracking list

  1. Glory
  2. Glory Dub
  3. Stop Your Crying
  4. Start Your Dubbing
  5. Gather Round
  6. Dub Round
  7. Jah Mountain
  8. Mountain Dub
  9. Fools Never Learn
  10. Fools Never Dub
  11. Cities
  12. Dub With No Pity
  13. I Don't Mind
  14. I Don't Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

London's Jah Warrior Records has released a fresh album of material from veteran roots singer Prince Alla, who recorded all those killers for Bertram Brown's "Freedom Sounds" label during the second half of the seventies. Prince Alla, born Keith Blake, 1950, Kingston Jamaica, began his career as a member of the rocksteady outfit the Leaders. After he had withdrawn from music business his good friend, producer Bertram Brown, persuaded him to start recording again. The result was a string of flawless roots reggae tracks.
This brand new Prince Alla album comes in a showcase style - seven vocal cuts accompanied by their seven dubs. This turns out to be a fine concept as it not only focusses on the vocal delivery of the singer, but also fully showcases the skills and talent of producer/musician Steve "Jah Warrior" Mosco's, who clearly has an innate feel for roots & culture music. Prince Alla's "Glory" is a fine, solid UK roots effort on which Prince Alla's roots vocals work extremely well with the hard and heavy digital riddims which are covered by live Crispy Horns (trombone : Chris Petter, trumpet : Dave Hake), Jonah Dan on bongos and tambourine, and Hughie Izachaar on guitar, the latter also providing harmonies. The best cuts are the wicked title track and opener "Glory", the recent single "Jah Mountain" and the new version of Prince Alla's mighty "Cities" tune. But also the other tracks are truly enjoyable, solid efforts. It makes this album well recommended to anyone looking for some fine UK roots and dub. Good stuff... Ruffer than ruff, tuffer than tuff!

Teacher & Mr. T.