Album review
Go Fah
Black Rat & Max Wayne
Brickwall Records - Walboomers Music
12 - 02 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Fraud Band
  2. Lyrical
  3. Yeah Gosh
  4. Have Nothing
  5. Rate You
  6. When Last
  7. Give Thanks
  8. Go Fah
  9. Part Two
  10. De Gat Dem
  11. Man Guinep
  12. New Friends (Black Rat feat. Serial kid)
  13. Bad Mind Fi Go Dung (Black Rat)
  14. Naw Drop Yuh Shield
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 4

Following in the footsteps of the successful and in demand combination Devonte & Tanto Metro, the new and upcoming Dancehall duo Black Rat & Max Wayne delivers their first full length album, entitled "Go Fah". Gathering tunes recorded for a variety of producers including Collin Fat, Computer Paul, King Jammy, "Bulby" York & "Fatta" Marshall, Culture Lee, Delroy Pottinger, Syl Gordon and Black Scorpio's Maurice Johnson this album provides a good overview of these two youngsters' activities within the Dancehall scene so far. Deejay Black Rat utilizes the very same vocal delivery as Red Rat, the by now well known Dancehall artist, to whom his name not coincidentally refers to. Although not every track is a winner, there's enough to enjoy for everyone who is into Dancehall music. Best tracks are "Fraud Band", "Yeah Gosh" (delivered across the hotter than hot "Bellyas" riddim) and the title track "Go Fah".

Teacher & Mr. T.