Album review
Good 2 Go
Elephant Man
Atlantic Records
December 02 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Pon De River, Pon De Bank
  2. Bun Down Dat/Stop Hitch
  3. Signal De Plane
  4. Head Gone/Genie Dance
  5. Bad Man
  6. Real Gangstas
  7. All Out
  8. So Fine Feat. Jimmy Cozier
  9. Jamaica
  10. Fuck You Sign
  11. Nah Gwan A Jamaica
  12. Who We Are Feat. Killah Priest
  13. Fan Dem Off
  14. Jook Gal Feat. Bone Crusher, Lil Jon & Kiprich
  15. Cock Up Your Bumper Feat. Big Tigger & Sasha
  16. Indian Girl
  17. Bun Fi Bun
  18. Blasť
  19. Who U Think U Is
  20. Mexican Girl
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Elephant Man's long awaited and much anticipated new album for Atlantic Records finds him at the top of his game; controversy and rumour follow him everywhere and his dominance of the dancehalls is staggering. Since the beginning of the new millennium the former Scare Dem Crew singjay has scored countless smash hits in the 7" dancehall singles market, which made that his profile has grown considerably over the past three years. Currently Elephant Man fully explores his specialty for creating theme songs to the latest Jamaican dances. Not a wrong approach at all as the seductive dance steps of Jamaican dancehall have been key to the recent success of dancehall reggae in the international market via music videos. As rapidly as these dances come and go out of fashion, Elephant Man is there with another big tune for the core. A perfect example of such a tune is his wicked hit single "Pon De River, Pon De Bank". The latter kicks off the "Good 2 Go" set in fine style and sets the tone for the rest of the album. From beginning to end we're treated to hot dancehall beats, catchy melodies and rapid-fire lyrics. But this album offers more as it features a variety of styles ranging from the pounding insisting dancehall sound of "Fuck You Sign" to the acoustic sound of the exceptional "Mexican Girl" over the Baby G produced "Acoustic Soul" riddim. Included are some of this year's hottest riddims such as "Gallop", Big Jeans' "All Out", "Coolie Dance", King Jammy's "20 Cent" and Donovan Vendetta's "Good To Go". Furthermore this album has some new tunes across fresh riddims and a few nice collaborations with Jamaican artists as well as US hip-hop stars. But above all it's Elephant Man's charismatic sound, style and unique vocabulary that makes that there's never a dull moment when you listen to this album. Our favourite tracks include "Pon De River, Pon De Bank", "Signal The Plane", "Real Gangstas", 'Fan Dem Off", Blasť and the dancehall reggae track "Who U Think U Is".
"Good 2 Go" is sure to broaden Elephant Man's fan base and raise dancehall's profile in the music world further.

Teacher & Mr. T.