The Good, The Bad & The Blazing
Junior Kelly, Bounty Killer & Capleton
Minor7Flat5-Groove Attack
November 18, 2005

Track list
  1. Intro
  2. Jah Jah's People - Junior Kelly
  3. Straight A (Remix) - Bounty Killer
  4. Hear The Children - Capleton
  5. All I Do - Junior Kelly
  6. West Indies - Bounty Killer
  7. Escape - Capleton
  8. Done Dem Career - Junior Kelly
  9. Threat - Bounty Killer
  10. Get Up - Capleton
  11. Don't You Play With My Love - Junior Kelly
  12. Hey Yo Yallo - Bounty Killer
  13. They Just Don't Know - Capleton
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
After a special "Intro" of the three DJs/singjays of this 'concept album for a virtual movie' starring Junior Kelly as The Good,Bounty Killer as The Bad, and Capleton (of course) as The Blazing, this third 2005 album produced by the Gran Canaria, Spain based German Andreas 'Brotherman' Christophersen for his Minor7Flat5 label, and the third distributed by Groove Attack gets on its way. Following the excellent albums "My Hope" by Anthony B and "Rasta Still De' Bout" by Josie Mel including the big chart ruling titletrack combination with Luton Fyah, that were released earlier this year, it seems this disc is set to reach even higher heights. With the usual suspects of a Brotherman production providing the backing, George 'Dusty' Miller, Leroy 'Horse Mouth' Wallace, Granville Thomas on drums, Danny Bassie, Andrew Campbell on bass, Paul 'Wrongmove' Crossdale, Lloyd 'Obeah' Denton on keyboards, Andreas 'Brotherman' Christophersen himself and Leebert 'Gibby' Morrison on guitars, Dean Frazer on saxophone, Nambo Robinson and Romero Gray on trombone, Dwight Richards on trumpet, percussion by Sticky 'Uziah' and excellent backing vocals by Pam Hall, Leeba Hibbert and Nicky Tucker, all recorded at Tuff Gong Studio, Mixing Lab Studio, Big Yard Studio, Prophets Yard, Countryside Studio and Anchor Studio, Kingston Jamaica, and with all other instruments and programming done by Brotherman himself, mixed at Mixing Lab Studio, Kingston, Jamaica by Lynford 'Fatta' Marshall, Big Yard and Brotherman's Hill, Gran Canaria, Spain by Brotherman and Frontroom Studio, Kingston by Cedrica 'Soljie' Hamilton we're in for a treat, with a lot of the riddims used by now having become familiar in the reggae fraternity. Junior Kelly delivers the excellent conscious "Jah Jah's People" over yet another arrangement of the 'Friedenland'-riddim with its wicked Nambo Robinson trombone, with Brotherman following the current trend of arranging riddims successfully in a different way for different artists, before Bounty Killer's "Straight A" - originally recorded over the latest Minor7Flat5 riddim 'Ivan' that is sure to make some more waves in the dancehalls and was also voiced by Beenie Man, Wayne Marshall, Kiprich and Vybz Kartel - is featured in the remix over the latin-tinged intriguing 'Breeze'-riddim with its restrained trumpet accents. "Hear The Children" is Capleton in great almost laid back rootsy lamentive style over the 'Upside Down'-riddim, followed by Junior Kelly's take on the 'Grow'-riddim, the beautiful love song "All I Do" is think of you. Bounty Killer delivers "West Indies" at slow pace but still as impressive as he can be over the rootsy 'Sunday'-riddim, before Capleton's take on 'Ivan' "Escape" and Junior Kelly's fierce "Done Dem Career" over one of the first Brotherman riddims to gain widespread recognition two years ago 'Campo'. The minimalistic 'Lili'-riddim is the perfect backing for Bounty Killer's apocalyptic "Threat" with the completely different live roots backing of the 'Tower'-riddim for Capleton's "Get Up" perfectly showing the versatility of Brotherman as a producer, and the quality of the musicians involved. The 'ABC'-riddim under Junior Kelly's "Don't You Play With My Love" is maybe a bit over-arranged for this tune, but it's still a very nice riddim and a very strong tune. The heavily drum'n'bass influenced 'Minor7Flat5'-riddim is the perfect backdrop for Bounty Killer on a tune based around his trademark "Hey Yo Yallo" before Capleton's melodic take on the 'Grow'-riddim "They Just Don't Know" closes this extremely satisfying Brotherman produced '3 the hard way' album. Another recommended Minor7Flat5 album, and I'll end this review expressing my hope that the next album from Brotherman's camp will be an 'Ivan' one riddim album, something that doesn't seem impossible or improbable with 17 tunes in the can.