Album review
Good Loving
Jah Batta
Ruff Stuff Records

Tracking list

  1. Jah Never Leave Me
  2. Nah Give Up
  3. Good Loving
  4. So Much Religion featuring Sugar Minott
  5. Only A Matter Of A Time featuring Donovan
  6. So Much Trouble In The World
  7. Time Don't Wait
  8. Silent Treatment featuring L. Jarrett
  9. Just You And Me
  10. Pray featuring C. John & Ras Man
  11. Peace Time Dub
  12. A Matter Of Fact Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3

Hailing from St. Catherine, Jamaica and living in the US since 1973, Jah Batta - sometimes also called the original Batta - delivers his latest album "Good Loving". Although his name may not ring a bell among a broad audience, reggae connoisseurs know him from his studio sessions with the renown Lloyd "Bullwackies" Barnes (actually also involved in this new album), for whom he also recorded a solo album entitled "Argument" and - together with two colleagues - the Jezreel album "Great Jah Jah Showcase". Jah Batta was one of the first Reggae artists to perform in Japan and he has worked with such great artists as The Meditations, Glen Washington, the late Dennis Brown, Everton Blender, Freddie McGregor and Sugar Minott, with whom he recorded his first single release "Sometime Girl" in 1980.
As if to underline a longlasting and respectful association Sugar Minott teams up with Batta in the combination tune "So Much Religion", previously released as a 7" single. It's one of the standout tracks of a pleasant varied CD, which is a worthy follow-up to his self-produced, highly enjoyable and uplifting "Earth Crisis" album. Accompanied by such fine musicians like Glen Washington, Jerry Johnson, Ricky Myrie, Donovan McKitty and Errol Campbell, Jah Batta once again showcases that he has a captivating and wailing vocal delivery. A broad range of themes are presented in the mainly self-penned songs, with Batta's positive upliftment always coming through. Also worth mentioning is the fact that this album contains mainly fresh, original riddims, only the catchy "Silent Treatment" utilizes a classic riddim : John Holt's "Stealing" riddim. The album's high points are "Jah Never Leave Me", the upful stepper "Nah Give Up", "Only A Matter Of A Time", "Just You And Me", "Pray" and the aforementioned duet "So Much Religion".

Teacher & Mr. T.