Album review
Good Vibrations
Ariwa Sounds

Tracking list

  1. Good Vibrations
  2. Oppressor
  3. United Nations
  4. Solid Rock
  5. Chant Nyabinghi
  6. Ethiopia
  7. Slavery
  8. Rough Rough
  9. Political Victory
  10. Look Into My Eyes
  11. Dub Vibrations
  12. Dub-pressor
  13. United Dub
  14. Solid Dub
  15. Nya Dub
  16. Dub Ethiopia
  17. Slavery Dub
  18. Rough Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

Still a little girl Jackie White a.k.a. Shaloma became involved in music when she started singing in the Pentecostal church in her East London neighbourhood. In the mid eighties Shaloma was the lead singer and songwriter of the vocal group Natural Beauty, who had a hit tune called "Nice Up Dance", a song that was produced by ex Matumbi drummer Jah Bunny. Furthermore this song was part of the soundtrack of a Hollywood film called "Wild Thing".
In 1993 Shaloma joined Mad Professor's Ariwa stable and started recording tracks for this album, which initially was released on vinyl in 1994, then entitled "Slavery". Now 'Ariwa Sounds' has made this fine album available on compact disc with, as a bonus, eight dub tracks. Just like such female singers as Sandra Cross, Kofi, Aisha, and Carroll Thompson, pretty-voiced Shaloma fully benefits from Mad Professor's accomplished production techniques. "Good Vibrations" features ten original songs dealing with serious political reality and deep humanity love and contains such standouts as the title track "Good Vibrations" and "Ethiopia", which both seem to be very popular in dub circles, the musically and lyrically appealing "United Nations", "Rough Rough" and "Look Into My Eyes", the latter being UK lovers rock at its best. With this album Shaloma showcases that she possesses the vocal abilities and songwriting skills to deliver a fully satisfying effort.

Teacher & Mr. T.