Album review
Good Ways
Runn Records

Tracking list

  1. Bless Me Featuring Garnett Silk
  2. Good Ways
  3. Azanido
  4. Trust & Love
  5. Bless The Youth
  6. Anytime Now
  7. Gun Handling Pros
  8. Mockries & Phrase
  9. Protect Us & Bless Us
  10. Can't Cool Can't Quench
  11. Suffer If They Don't Hear
  12. Half That Has Never Been Told
  13. Big & Bold
  14. Joyfull
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

One of the most profound artists that reggae music has had the pleasure to encounter in the nineties namely Sizzla comes up with a brand new album that has the power and the majesty only the best are able to deliver. In a relatively short period of time this powerful young singjay has managed to establish himself as an inspired and inspiring messenger of the "Now Generation". His sincere brand of truths and rights has made him the people's choice. That's why he's hailed as the most potent artist of his generation, and with a reputation for delivering the most revolutionary lyrics in reggae since the late Peter Tosh. All these ingredients make any new Sizzla album an event and this one is no exception.
"Good Ways" is the long-awaited follow-up to his 1997 recorded number one album of the year "Black Woman & Child" for producer Bobby "Digital" Dixon. Although the critical acclaim and phenomenal success of the latter will be hard to match Sizzla has proven his continuity and versatility to make it possible. And indeed, "Good Ways" fully lives up to expectations. From beginning to end this militant singjay fully showcases his unique and spectacular style thus delivering another testimony of his remarkable skill and talents. Some of the tracks included on this album like "Good Ways", "Trust & Love" and "Bless The Youth" were already available on compilation albums and as 7" singles, although restricted to limited edition Jamaican imports until now. However, the majority of the tunes make their appearance on album here for the very first time. Revitalized riddims like Winston Riley's "Stalag", Derrick Harriott's "Solomon" and classic Studio One riddims "Breaking Up" and "Movie Star" intermingle with original riddims, all providing a good vehicle for this deeply spiritual talent. Lyrically Sizzla is outstanding as can be witnessed on every single cut. Whether it's about subjects like social inequality, political corruption or destruction of the environment Sizzla uncompromisingly attacks them all. Highlights include the title track "Good Ways", "Protect Us & Bless Us", "Can't Cool Can't Quench" and the awesome "Mockries & Phrase".
This album will free your mind, uplift your soul and steal your heart ! So listen and see !

More Sizzla reviews :
Burning Up
Black Woman & Child
Praise Ye Jah
Jet Star Reggae Max ~ Sizzla

Teacher & Mr. T.