Album review
Live At Reggae Sunsplash 1994
Garnet Silk
Tabou 1/Walboomers Music

Tracking list

  1. Intro
  2. Let Them Talk
  3. Blessed Be The Almighty God
  4. Advantage
  5. Bless Me
  6. Jah Jah Is The Ruler
  7. His Kingly Character
  8. Complain
  9. Splashing Dashing
  10. The Rod
  11. Hello Africa
  12. Place In Your Heart
  13. It's Growing
  14. Fill Us With Your Mercy
  15. Zion In A Vision
  16. Mama
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Garnett Silk -real name Garnett Smith- was born in 1970. As a teeneager he started deejaying, calling himself Little Bimbo. For Delroy Collins he recorded his first singles, soon followed by sessions for King Tubby, Youth Promotion and King Jammy. He achieved success with his cuts for Courtney Cole, but his debut set It's Growing for Bobby 'Digital' Dixon established him as a major roots artist. Until his untimely death at the end of 1994 when he tried to save his mother from a burning house, he cut excellent slices for an array of producers such as Steely and Clevie, Jack Scorpio and Donovan Germain.
Garnett Silk performed at Sunsplash 1994 and this live set contains his most memorable hits he recorded for a variety of producers. After the intro of MC Tommy Cowan the backing band -Jahpostles- starts playing a medley of his greatest hits, and then Garnett comes on stage praising the Almighty before he delivers the religious tunes Let Them Talk and Blessed Be The Almighty God. After The Rod he leaves the stage, but not for long. He returns on stage with Hello Africa and he finally finishes off his excellent performance with a scorching version of Zion In A Vision and Mama.
The perfect backing is provided by Garnett's friends of the Jahpostles band, the soundquality is excellent, the music is spiritual and uplifting....Garnett Silk was a truly talented artist and he still is sadly missed. A must have album !

Teacher & Mr. T.