Glen Washington
VP Records
February 28, 2009

Glen Washington - Destiny Track list
  1. My Destiny
  2. Pour Your Sugar
  3. Money Love
  4. All My Love
  5. Where Will I Go
  6. One Fine Day
  7. Brotherly Love
  8. Got To Be There
  9. Hooligan
  10. Love Gone Clear
  11. Ain't Too Proud To Beg
  12. Sweet Love
  13. Until We Meet Again
  14. We Need Love
  15. When
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 14-
Good -Votes: 2-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 19
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Hailing from the Jamaican parish of Clarendon, Glen Washington is regarded by reggae fans internationally for his smooth lyrics and solid baritone delivery. The comparison with the similarly seasoned voice of Beres Hammond -- actually one of his fellow artists whom he openly admires -- is often drawn, but there's enough to conclude that he's an emotive, full-voiced singer with an own style.

Glen Washington's first recording was actually years before his 1997 released debut album, the Coxsone Dodd produced "Brother To Brother" set for the Studio One label. He was a drummer before he briefly came to the attention of the reggae massive as a singer with the rootsy "Rockers Nuh Crackers", a sizeable hit recorded for producer Joe Gibbs back in 1978. Having received general acclaim with the release of his "Brother To Brother" album, which succesfully re-established a career lain dormant for two decades, Glen Washington started to receive offers from other production houses to record for them.

It was for producers Lloyd & Michelle Campbell of the 'Joe Fraser' label that he recorded some real fine albums including "Get Next To Me", "Number One Girl", "Your Love" and "Wanna Be Loved", and now there's a brand new album for this well-respected production duo entitled "Destiny". This new collection of tunes features the singer's usual mixture of roots and lovers, mostly over familiar riddims. It with this and furthermore his considered, mature lyrics that Glen Washington once more emphasizes that he stays true to his core musical values.

As pointed out Glen Washington mostly delivers his lyrics over reworked vintage riddims including Max Romeo's "Three Blind Mice" ("Pour You Sugar"), The Techniques' "Queen Majesty" ("All My Love"), Alton Ellis' "Breaking Up Is Hard To Do" ("Where Will I Go"), The Melodians' "You Have Caught Me" ("Love Gone Clear"), The Heptones' "Love Me Always" ("One Fine Day"), Marcia Griffiths' "Feel Like Jumping" aka The Ethiopans' Train To Skaville" ("Until We Meet Again"), and Glen Brown's "Youthman" ("When").

The albums kicks off in fine style with the solid title track "My Destiny". Underpinned by a remake of a well-known classic riddim that we just can't put the finger on (and that's pretty annoying we can tell you), Glen Washington talks about the love of his life. From there he takes the listener on a smooth lovers rock journey with entertaining tracks such as the decent "All My Love", the wonderful "Where Will I Go", the matching "One Fine Day", the real nice "Until We Meet Again" and the beautiful "We Need Love". There's also an occasional stop where he treats you to conscious roots reggae like e.g. "Brotherly Love", the excellent "Got To Be Free" and the outstanding "When". Besides the original songs this set also includes two covers, The Temptations' soul classic "Ain't To Proud To Beg" and John Holt's "Hooligan".

You can't go wrong with this one if you're looking for an album packed with feel good tunes and melodic love songs, delivered by an artist who has proven that he can thrill his listeners.