Hold You
VP Records
September 5, 2010

Hold Track list
  1. To Be Held
  2. Beautiful Lady
  3. Call Gyptian
  4. All in You
  5. Hold You
  6. Nah Let Go
  7. Tease Me (Haffi Easy)
  8. L.U=V0.E.
  9. Rendezvous
  10. So Much in Love
  11. Na Na Na (A Love Song)
  12. Drive Me Crazy
  13. Where You Belong
  14. Leave Us Alone
  15. Selah
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 11-
Very Good -Votes: 7-
Good -Votes: 7-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 2-

Total votes : 28
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Gyptian's current album 'Hold You' opens with the ballad To Be Held (based on Alice Keys' tune "Empire State Of Mind Pt.2"), followed by the extremely catchy and melodic lovers tune Beautiful Lady. The next tune, Call Gyptian, uses a Steely & Clevie backdrop from the '80s, but we just can't figure out what the name of that riddim is. Anyway, it sees Gyptian in a dancehall style, and he makes an awesome impression with this boasting tune! All in You is a less impressive tune, which uses a smooth relick of the 'Punany' riddim.

The fantastic title track needs no further introduction. Hold You has become a multi-chart hit worldwide and deemed a '2010 Summer Anthem'. According to Billboard Magazine "not since Wayne Wonder's 'No Letting Go', has an underground reggae artist garnered as much attention in the United States as Jamaica's own Gyptian." The follow-up single Nah Let Go is equally strong. It's a bubbling and bouncing and super-catchy summer tune. The riddim reminds us of the successful "Bookshelf" riddim (remember Sean Paul's "Deport Them"?).

After the instrumental interlude L.U=V0.E. Gyptian changes the mood and displays his romantic moods. Rendezvous is not a bad effort at all, but So Much In Love fails to make a decent impression. The heavily auto-tuned Na Na Na (A Love Song) and Drive Me Crazy are simple love songs, nothing less, nothing more. Where You Belong is a contemporary relick of the 'Heavenless' riddim from Studio One, a nicely done lovers song. Leave Us Alone is more vintage dancehall revisited. Alton Ellis' 'Mad Mad' riddim underpins this excellent tune, as Gyptian displays his dancehall side. The heavily orchestrated ballad Selah closes the album.

Gyptian is enjoying world wide chart success with this new album, but the mix of reggae, dancehall, pop and R&B, and the extensive use of the vocoder will not please every reggae fan.