No Doubt Records / Flava Recs
May 17, 2010

Gyptian Track list
  1. Confess
  2. Crying
  3. Togetherness feat. Chezidek, Norris Man, Lutan Fyah & Perfect
  4. Rude Boy Shuffling feat. Duane Stephenson
  5. Our Father
  6. Love Means Everything
  7. Love You
  8. Give Me Some Of Your Love feat. Tina Nuñezz
  9. Revelations
  10. Murderation feat. Barrington Levy
  11. Righteous feat. Natural Black
  12. Cool Youths
  13. Peaceful
  14. There's No Other feat. Terri B
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 8-
Very Good -Votes: 10-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 25
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Hot on the heals of his currently very successful, dancehall flavored single "Hold Yuh", high prolific producer Kemar 'Flava' McGregor has released Gyptian's third album "Revelations". The latter follows up the somewhat disappointing debut set "My Name Is Gyptian" and his sophomore "I Can Feel Your Pain", which despite being a far better album than "My Name Is Gyptian" suffered a bit from VP Records' attempt at crossover appeal. With both albums, and chart topping singles like "Serious Times" and "Beautiful Lady", Gyptian proved that both socially conscious songs and lovers rock were at his command. So it's not that surprising that this "Revelations" set, actually mainly a compilation of earlier released 7" singles, again brings the listener a nice mixture of conscious efforts and romance tunes.

Compared with "I Can Feel Your Pain", which obviously was influenced by contemporary R&B, this "Revelations" set is a more consistent one and also a welcome return to the musical styles of the singer's homeland. In his role as crooner the plaintive falsetto Gyptian comforts the listener with tracks such as the wonderful acoustic opener "Confess", "Loves Means Everything" over the "Classic" riddim, the combination tunes "Give Me Some Of Your Love" with Cornell Campbell's daughter Tina Nuñezz on the "Drop It" riddim and the mellow "There's No Other" with Terry B, and "Love You", a remake of the tune "Girl I Love You" which was featured on a promo cd that circulated on the internet in 2006 prior to the release of his debut album.

The modern-day roots reggae singer comes to the fore in the moving "Crying", a very powerful social commentary, which belongs to the standouts of this album. Gyptian makes a powerful statement of praise to Jah in the solid "Our Father", while "Revelations" is a great reality tune across the "Ghetto" riddim in which he (for whatever reason) refers to Junior Byles and his "Fade Away" tune. Also "Cool Youths" makes a serious impression and is a standout effort. Then there are the four conscious combination tunes of which "Righteous" with Natural Black is the strongest effort. But also "Togetherness", done in combination with contemporaries Chezidek, Lutan Fyah and Perfect, and "Murderation" with veteran Barrington Levy (also done in combination with Beenie Man in 1994) are worth hearing. The cover of Israel Vibration's "Rude Boy Shuffling" is nicely done, but is the least appealing of the four combinations.

Overall opinion is that Kemar 'Flava' McGregor's protége Gyptian finally delivers an album that lives up to the potential he showed with his early hit tunes.