Album review
Hail To The King
VP Records-Walboomers Music
January 17, 2004

Tracking list

  1. Hail To The King (Intro)
  2. I Shall Not Be Moved
  3. Confession
  4. We Deserve
  5. R.E.S.P.E.C.T.
  6. Your Papito
  7. Good Draw
  8. We Can Do Better
  9. They Must Go Down
  10. Break Away
  11. Live And Let Live
  12. Changes
  13. Let's Get It On Tonight
  14. Rasta Fiesta feat. Chezidek
  15. Babylon You Doom
  16. Dig It Out
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

With the release of no less than five albums it can't be denied that 2003 has been a fruitful year for Sheldon Campbell aka Turbulence. "Hail To The King" is a brand new collection of tunes from this popular young singjay produced by Fatis "Xterminator" Burrell, featuring riddims - fresh originals as well as remakes - built by the musical heavyweights Sly Dunbar, Earl "Chinna" Smith, Mitchum Chin, Chris Meredith, Donald "Bassie" Dennis and Melbourne "Dusty" Miller recorded at Gussie Clarke’s Anchor Studio down Jamaica way. Luckily the Xterminator camp has been cured from the R&B virus that emerged on some of their Sizzla releases. Turbulence, a conscious singjay whose star is on the rise, blends His Majesty's teachings with a contemporary vocal approach and hardcore reggae riddims. His vocal style owes an obvious debt to Sizzla, nevertheless on tracks such as "I Shall Not Be Moved", "Break Away", "Changes" and "Babylon You Doom" he displays a sure melodic touch that more than matches Kalonji's headiest flights of fancy. "Hail To The King" is Turbulence's best album to date. It's a well balanced set showing that he's fully capable of filling each performance with style and melody to spare. The album opens very strong with the impressive title track "Hail To The King" on which Turbulence's vocal delivery is only accompanied by percussion and guitar. Other highlights are "I Shall Not Be Moved", the wicked "We Deserve", "We Can Do Better" on Bob Marley's "War" riddim, the awesome "They Must Go Down" over Studio One's much versioned "Real Rock" riddim, "Break Away", "Live And Let Live" and "Babylon You Doom". With this album Turbulence leaves a deep impression and we're pretty sure that he will be difficult to ignore when he continues to release such quality albums. If only he doesn't try to follow Sizzla's humongous output of albums...

Teacher & Mr. T.