Album review
Hard End / The O'Luge Sessions
Bobby O'Luge
O'Luge Productions

Tracking list

  1. Two For This
  2. Uglyman Posse
  3. Cut Throat
  4. Double Trouble
  5. Game Block
  6. Hard End
  7. Six Love
  8. What's Going On
  9. Key
  10. Six Love (Straight Mix)
  11. Two For This (Straight Mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4

Bobby O'Luge (Jeffrey A. Holdip) has been an international touring live sound engineer for eightteen years. On this cd he uses this experience to deliver an interesting dub album, featuring the talents of some of Canada's best musicians such as Cha Cha Rebble, Dahlia Anderson, Wyz Malcolm and Charles Sinclair.
The album kicks of with a very interesting jungle-styled dub -Two For This-, featuring vocals by the great U Roy. The riddim is taken from an old Treasure Isle song by the Sensations, 'Everyday Is A Holiday'. This track is also present on the album in the 'straight mix' version.
Uglyman Posse is a jazzy orientated track, followed by the furious sounding Cut Throat. Gregory Isaacs is featured on the mellow dub track Double Trouble, which is one of my favorite tunes. Pop and blues influences are heard in the title track Hard End, which is more or less a mix of vocal and dub.
Six Love features (French) vocals by Dahlia Anderson over a compelling riddim. The straight mix version of this track is also worth while checking out. The distorted voice of an unknown vocalist on Key makes this track one of the highlights of the album. For more info check out the website of O'Luge Productions

Teacher & Mr. T.