Album review
Harvest Time
VP Records - Walboomers Music
22 - 08 - 2002

Tracking list

  1. Shall Not Be Moved
  2. Harvest Time
  3. Let I In
  4. Naturally
  5. Heart Full Of Love
  6. Right Vibes
  7. Organize Crime
  8. Zion High Keeper
  9. Can't Hear Must Feel
  10. Break Free
  11. Only Rastafari
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

From Phillip "Fatis" Burrell's renown Xterminator Productions camp comes "Harvest Time", the debut album of Chezidek. This upcoming roots star and former Chilla Rinch a.k.a. Desbert Johnson already attracted attention among reggae followers with some notable 7" singles including two essential records namely "Can't Hear Must Feel" and "Harvest Time", both included here. Unlike well known Jamaican singers like for example Beres Hammond and Luciano, Chezidek can't be regarded a classic singer in the way these aforementioned stars are. On the other hand one has to conclude that there is definitely a similarity. Just like Beres Hammond and Luciano, Chezidek's vocals and melodies tend to make his records fresh and always interesting. Chezidek's voice - sounding a little like Luciano and Garnett Silk - is appealing in the same way as Warrior King or Chrisinti. Not only is Chezidek blessed with an unique vocal approach as he seemingly effortless combines elements of deejay chat and straight singing, he can also write solid - sometimes great - tunes. All songs featured are self-penned and tackle spiritual and political themes, although an occasional love song can be found too. Producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell has succeeded to capture the vibe of Chezidek's vocal delivery and songs perfectly, which makes that this album incorporates a range of rhythmic settings. The sounds and instrumentation have a retro "rockers" feel with contemporary edge. However, the Xterminator sound is not as dense as before, but Fatis' production values are still above par. As a complete set, it's really good as there are few, if any, weak spots to speak of. "Shall Not Be Moved", "Let I In", "Organize Crime" and "Only Rastafari", along with the already mentioned essential singles "Can't Hear Must Feel" and "Harvest Time", are the key tracks of this album.
"Harvest Time" is a fine debut from an artist whose music comes with a warm and familiar flow.

Teacher & Mr. T.