Serious Times
Horace Andy
June 23, 2010

Horace Track list
  1. Serious Times
  2. Crazy
  3. So Real
  4. False Witness
  5. Cool It Down
  6. Your Friend
  7. Rastafari
  8. Trodding
  9. Rumors Of War
  10. Life
  11. Give It Up
  12. Rasta Words
  13. That Light
  14. Love
  15. Cool It (Dub)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 0-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 1-
Average -Votes: 2-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 3
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3
The legendary Studio One veteran Horace "Sleepy" Andy, who is blessed with one of the most distinctive voices in reggae music, first came to the attention of the international reggae massive when Coxsone Dodd released his "Skylarking" album in 1972, rounding up a clutch of Andy's singles and other crucial recordings from this period. Before that he had scored Jamaican hits with singles such as "Love Of A Woman", "Every Tongue Shall Tell", "Where Do The Children Play" and "Oh Lord Why Lord". And now, 40 years after he showed up at Studio One to audition for labelhead Coxsone Dodd, he's still active in music business, performing live and recording albums.

For his brand new album "Serious Times" Horace Andy has teamed up with Gran Canaria Island (Spain) based German producer Andreas "Brotherman" Christopherson, one of the last decade's most respected European producers and riddim makers, who has released albums from artists such as Lutan Fyah, Luciano, Turbulence, Josie Mel, Cocoa Tea and Anthony B to name six. This album not only features the veteran singer but also respected veteran roots musicians like Leroy 'Horsemouth' Wallace (drums), Dean Fraser (saxophone), Nambo Robinson (trombone) and Bongo Herman, Sticky Uziah Thompson and Sky Juice (percussion). The riddims were recorded in various studios including Tuff Gong, Mixing Lab and Big Yard while the vocals were voiced at Duke Reid's old studio in Tivoli Gardens. From the very first track it's obvious that Horace Andy's ageless voice has been given room to do its thing as the mix has been kept sparse and dubby. Indeed a very good approach when it comes to singers with a haunting falsetto vocal style. Although not every tune is a winner, this set contains no real weak tracks, at most less appealing ones like e.g. the lovers tune "Crazy". Personal favourites are "So Real", "False Witness", "Cool It Down", "Life" and "That Light".

"Serious Times" is a well balanced solid roots set from a living reggae legend who still capable of making music worth hearing.