Album review
Michael Anthony
Chain Gang/Flynn & Flynn Music
03 - 10 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. Heart Breaker
  2. Sweet Juliet
  3. JAH On My Side
  4. Life Rough
  5. One More Miracle
  6. All Over Her Body
  7. I Will Love You More
  8. Love of the Century
  9. Stone Heart
  10. Girlfriend
  11. Pretty Woman
  12. Anything is Possible
  13. Pray for You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 3/4

Chain Gang Label, a division of Flynn & Flynn Music, Inc., is based in Hartford, Connecticut with a studio in Miami, Florida and is jointly owned by Dr. Paul and Owen Flynn.
Michael Anthony Francis, who uses his first and middle names Michael Anthony as an entertainer, was born in Kingston, Jamaica . He acquired his early childhood love for music as in the form as an inheritance from his father, now deceased, who sang back-up vocal for various popular Jamaican Reggae bands in the late 60's. At the tender age of five, Michael Anthony appeared on a kid's Christmas show. It was, however, during his teenage years and high school years that he really discovered his passionate love for music. At school, he was a member of his school choir. Though they mostly performed only on school campuses, this did well for his voice training and stage adaptation. At home there was no rest for music. As a young teenager, he spends his leisure time writing songs, practicing singing them and was obsessed with singing styles of David Ruffin (the Temptations) and the likes of Jerry Butler and Sam Cooke.
Michael Anthony, who now resides in the U.S. recorded in 1994 this album that contains a selection of good tunes. His vocal delivery is very impressive and the songs found here are mostly lovers tunes with an occasional roots tune like Oh Jah and Life Rough. Here you will also find dancehall orientated songs such as Pretty Woman and Sweet Juliet, the latter being across the "Tempo" riddim. For those who like the lovers side of reggae check out the ballads All Over Her Body, a combination tune with rising reggae star Junior Kelly, and I Will Love You More. The combination with Don Youth aka Don Yute brings you Anything Is Possible, an outstanding tune.
"Heartbreaker" is a nice debut set from this fine vocalist !

Teacher & Mr. T.