Album review
Heart Is Willing
Freddie McGregor
Charm-Jet Star
July 1 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Old Gangster
  2. Smile For Me
  3. I Wanna Know
  4. Lost That Loving Feeling
  5. What You Dealing
  6. You Don't Have To Worry
  7. Just Can't Wait
  8. Meet Me Tonight
  9. Searching
  10. I Love You
  11. Victim
  12. If Your Heart Is Willing
  13. Got To Get Away
  14. Look Like Me
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4/5

Entertaining the residents of Clarendon, Jamaica since he was a boy of 7, Freddie McGregor is now a household name in reggae music. Put to work in the recording studio by Coxsone Dodd of Studio One fame, Freddie's ascent to stardom began. He remains one of Jamaica’s best loved musical personalities. Over a career spanning ska, rocksteady, reggae, roots, lovers rock and even a little dancehall, he’s notched up innumerable hit singles; made handfuls of classic albums and also featured on the international charts from time to time. Freddie has come up through the ranks of reggae alongside veterans like Gregory Isaacs, Dennis Brown, and Bob Marley. Multi-talented as a singer, songwriter, arranger and producer Freddie McGregor truly has taken his abilities worldwide.
Freddie's new album "Heart Is Willing" brings us some 14 tracks, most of them produced by the Ruff Cutt production crew. Some tracks are produced by Danny Ray. This UK produced set sees Freddie in fine shape, delivering instant classics like Old Gangster and Searching an appealing tune across the immortal 'Columbus' riddim. With his rich, expressive vocal tone, which sounds familiar to anyone who loves reggae music, he manages to create a certain kind of magic in the air. We would describe his music as "feel good" music, but he doesn't forget his Jamaican roots, check out tunes like Smile For Me and You Don't Have To Worry, tunes which bring back the days of way, way back. Feel good, enjoy the music, join Freddie McGregor on his new album "Heart Is Willing".

Teacher & Mr. T.