Heart Of The Congos
The Congos
Blood & Fire
Double CD set & 18 page booklet
August 25, 1997

The Congos - Heart of the Congos Track list
Disc 1
  1. Fisherman
  2. Congoman
  3. Open up the gate
  4. Children crying
  5. La la bam bam
  6. Can't come in
  7. Sodom and Gomorrow
  8. The wrong thing
  9. Ark of the Covenant
  10. Solid foundation
  11. At the feast
  12. Nicodemus
Disc 2
  1. Congoman (12" mix)
  2. Congoman chant
  3. Bring the mackaback
  4. Noah sugar pan
  5. Solid foundation (disco cork mix)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5
The Congos consisted of lead vocalist Cedric Myton (ex-Bell Star, the Tartans, and Royal Rasses); "Ashanti" Roy Johnson, tenor vocals, occassional actor and (more or less) Watty Burnett, baritone vocals, who had previously cut musical teeth with Jimmy Cliff and Bob Marley. At the time (1976-1977) they recorded the quintessential "Heart Of The Congos" at Lee Perry's Black Ark studios, Lee Perry was one of the leading producers on the island. He had shaped a instantly-recognisable sound that was so totally unique, it made him a major force in the development of reggae music for years to come. "Heart of the Congos" is now regarded as one of the most outstanding classic roots and culture albums, emerging from the golden age of reggae, the Seventies. Words can hardly describe the beauty and intensity of this album, one has tho expierence the music : " Technicalities notwithstanding, the album overflows with a tangible presence so powerful that it virtually transcends the category of music." The album has been released 5 times before, but this reissue attempts to be the definitive version. Blood & Fire has added a bonus cd with alternative mixes, extra tracks and a beautiful booklet with extensive sleeve notes, thus making this the final and ultimate reissue of "Heart Of The Congos".