Album review
Herbman Hustling
Sugar Minott

Tracking list

  1. So she hot
  2. Herbman hustling
  3. Dance hall business
  4. All gone
  5. Give Jah the key
  6. Dance hall we deh
  7. Ghetto living
  8. Far away
  9. Uptown girl
  10. Rock of ages
    bonus tracks:
  11. Hard time pressure featuring Captain Sinbad
  12. Come back baby
  13. Palavin spree
  14. Nice it up
  15. New love
  16. Easy squeeze
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Sugar Minott (born Lincoln Minott, 1956, Kingston JA) remains the artist most associated with the early dancehall days. Sugar's major contribution to the period was threefold: as an extremely individual and popular singer, as an accomplished producer and as a very successful sound-system operator. Furthermore he was also a tireless promoter of fresh singers and deejays - invariably youthful strugglers from the same tough ghetto background as himself - through his "Youth Promotion" activities. This HeartBeat album once again confirms why the original "king of the dancehall" has gained such a large following all over the world. Great songs, strong lyrics and an excellent performance by the man himself delivered accross appealing riddims laid by such great musicians as Leroy Wallace, Sly Dunbar, Robbie Shakespeare, Style Scott, Scully, Dwight Pickney, Gladstone Anderson and Dean Fraser. A very, very strong revive set from the eighties. Authority and class stamped all over !

More Sugar Minott reviews :
Collector's Collection Vol. 1
RAS Portraits...Sugar Minott
Jet Star Reggae Max: Sugar Minott

Teacher & Mr. T.