Album review
Higher Level
Elephant Man

Tracking list

  1. Party Like This featuring Jagwa
  2. Nuh Come Fast
  3. Elephant Message
  4. No Hail Mi
  5. Give Her It Good
  6. Do Yuh Ting
  7. Run For Your Life featuring Jarvis Church
  8. Eqyptian Dance
  9. Krazy
  10. Bad Man A Bad Man
  11. Low Mi Name
  12. Making Money
  13. Bring Di Sitten Come
  14. Bumper
  15. Higher Level
  16. Tall Up Tall Up
  17. Ghetto Girls
  18. Approach
  19. Gotcha featuring Jagwa
  20. Look
  21. On Line
  22. Virginity
  23. Miss Matty Son
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Greensleeves has unleashed Elephant Man's third album entitled "Higher Level", the follow up to last year's "Log On" set. Elephant Man - MOBO Nominee for Best Reggae Artist 2002 - dominates the dancehalls more and more and is quickly establishing himself as Jamaica's No. 1 entertainer with superstar status, thus seriously threatening the mighty Capleton. This "Higher Level" set finds "The Energy God" at the top of his game and features all Elephant Man's massive reggae chart hits of this year. No less than ten hit singles are gathered here including big tunes such as "Elephant Message" on the awesome "Diwali" (one of this year's most successful riddims), "Do Yuh Ting" across Preston Onfroy's infectious "Party Time" riddim, "Low Mi Name (aka Passa Passa)", "Making Money" across John John's "G-String" riddim, the very unusual "Tall Up, Tall Up" produced by Stone Love's Winston "Wee Pow" Powell and "Approach" over Kings of Kings' "Famine" riddim. Furthermore we're treated to the outrageous "Bad Man A Bad Man", the Winston "Wee Pow" Powell produced No. 1 chart hit across a Jamaican version of the riddim that underpins R. Kelly's "The World's Greatest".
Besides these well known hit tunes this set contains enough exclusive cuts to excite the dancehall massive. Among them the hilarious album opener "Party Like This", the Scatta Burrell produced killer "Nuh Come Fast", "No Hail Me" on the wicked "Mad Ants" riddim and "Give Her It Good", a cut for Lenky's follow up to his "Diwali" riddim called the "Masterpiece". But also "Gotcha" another Scatta Burrell produced piece for "Kings of Kings", "Bring Di Sitten Come" produced by Christopher "CJ" James, "Ghetto Girls" on First Name's brand new "Threat" riddim and the Don Vendetta produced tunes "Krazy" and "Egyptian Dance".
This set fully shows why Elephant Man currently reigns supreme, so make sure to catch him while he's still hot!

Teacher & Mr. T.