Hold The Faith
Warrior King
VP Records-Walboomers Music
October 25, 2005

Track list
  1. Reverence (Intro)
  2. Hold The Faith
  3. Every Day
  4. Can't Get Me Down
  5. Judgement Day
  6. Meditation
  7. Freedom
  8. My Life
  9. I Wonder
  10. Another Love Song
  11. Baby Girl
  12. They Don't Know
  13. Education
  14. Judah
  15. King
  16. Motherland Awaits
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
It was with the major hits "Virtuous Woman" and "Never Go Where Pagans Go" that the Portmore-based young rasta singer Mark Dyer aka Warrior King bursted onto the local and international reggae scene in the summer of 2001. Both tunes were the foundation for his debut album "Virtuous Woman", which unmistakably made clear that Warrior King could be reagarded as an important new voice in modern roots reggae.

On his eagerly anticipated sophomore album "Hold The Faith" we're once again treated to the tried and trusted formula of bringing vibrant lyrics over refurnished roots riddims, a combination that has distinguished Warrior King and captured fans worldwide. Expertly produced by main producers for the album -- from which the singles "Canít Get Me Down", "My Life" and "Judgement Day" already are getting great airplay on Jamaican radio -- Bobby "Digital" Dixon and Sheldon "Calibud" Stewart, this worthy collection of tunes shows that Warrior King vocally and lyrically has grown since the release of his full length debut album.

Consciousness from beginning to end, with Warrior King touching themes such as Rastafarian faith (expressed in tunes like "Hold The Faith", "Judah", "Judgement Day" and "Every Day"), love and devotion for his black princess ("I Wonder" and "Baby Girl"), love for the good herbs ("Meditation") and education ("Education", a strong message targeted to the youth of Jamaica).

As already pointed out a notable amount of revitalized classic riddims are featured here, a boon to any riddim spotter but on the other hand also further proof for those reggae fans who criticize it as a lack of innovative ideas in contemporary reggae music. Some of the recycled riddims you'll find here are Bob Marley's "Forever Loving Jah" ("Every Day"), John Holt's "Stick By Me" ("Baby Girl"), Bob Andy's "Unchained" ("Can't Get Me Down"), Cornell Campbell's Stars ("Another Love Song") Sound Dimension's "Full Up" ("Meditation"), and Burning Spear's "Marcus Garvey" ("Judah").

All in all Warrior King delivers a great album with nuff strong tracks, which undoubtedly will further raise the artist's profile.