Album review
Hold Tight
Gregory Isaacs

Tracking list

  1. Miss Cutie Cutie
  2. Wah dee
  3. Hold tight
  4. Mi no want
  5. Tan so back
  6. Thank you mr. Judge
  7. Kill them with music
  8. Lady on the frontline
  9. Come make love to me
  10. Get deport
  11. Don't go
  12. Motherless children
  13. I miss you
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Long regarded as Jamaica's best singer, "The Cool Ruler", Gregory Isaacs is back with an above mediocre release titled "Hold Tight". Gregory's unique vocal style is backed by the - sometimes heavy and echo-laden - rhythms of Mafia & Fluxy, being also the producers of this album. Whether romancing in songs like "I miss you" and "Come make love to me" or bringing the message to you in tunes like "Wah dee" and "Motherless children", his performance sounds inspired and energetic. His huge number of releases in the past five years included, almost inevitable, some really low quality albums. This one however is one to savour.

Teacher & Mr. T.