Album review
Hot We Hot Dub
Roots Radics
06 - 08 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. How Could I Dub
  2. Mix Me Up Dub
  3. Nice To Be With You Dub
  4. Come Out Of We Land Dub
  5. Hot We Hot Dub
  6. Joy To The World Dub
  7. Reshuffle The Deck Dub
  8. Me For You Dub
  9. Don't Turn Me Down Dub
  10. Book Of Life Dub
  11. Let's Dub It
  12. Watch Your Step Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The label ROIR started in 1979 as a cassette-only label, specializing in hardcore, punk, reggae, ska, dub and worldmusic. Now, twenty years later the company realises that the cassettes are becoming 'artifacts' and 'collector's items' and started re-releasing the best of their back catalogue on cd, completely digitally remastered - as well as new, never before released albums from cutting-edge artists.
This album is the instrumental remix of the vocal album 'Hot We Hot' originally released by RAS Records. ROIR released the instrumental remix as a cassette only in 1989. This release contains two bonus tracks produced by Dwight Pinkney. The album was recorded at Dynamics in Kingston, overdubbed in Kingston and mixed at Lion & Fox in Washington DC.
The Roots Radics started informally in 1978 as a group of well-known respected artists, brought together by Gregory Isaacs to back his recording endeavors. The concept of being a 'group' really stuck as they continued to back Isaacs as well as Yellowman, Eek A Mouse, Clint Eastwood & General Saint, Don Carlos, The Wailing Souls, Frankie Paul, Sugar Minott, Bunny Wailer and many others. Their sound is rootsy, heavy and danceable, they are the masters of the cool and deadly 'one drop' sound.
The twelve tracks on the cd are a real treat for everyone who loves the distinctive sound of the Roots Radics. Although the tracks are not from the time whem the Roots Radics ruled the dancehalls, it's obvious that this is pure quality music. With the digital remastering of the tracks the drums and bass sound even more heavier than they did before. Check out these skanking riddims !

Teacher & Mr. T.