Album review
House Of Jah
The Buffalo Soldier
I&I Foundation Records

Tracking list

  1. Bare Jah load
  2. Who need help
  3. House of Jah
  4. Chant a psalm
  5. Get along
  6. When you are poor
  7. Seeking
  8. Iniquity workers
  9. Iniquity dub
  10. Dub along
  11. Bonus dub track
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

The Buffalo Soldier, aka Ras Matthew 1, has delivered his religious statement, called "House of Jah". The cd contains eight vocal tracks, plus three dub tracks. Ras Matthew 1 takes care of all vocals, drum & bass and keyboards, "Gitsy" plays the guitar and reggae veteran Bongo Herman is on percussion. The horn section consists of Dean, Nambo and Chico. The album kicks off with the outstanding "Bare Jah load", slowing down the pace with "Who needs help", subsequently giving praises and expressing his wish to 'dwell in the house of Jah' in "House of Jah": a great track, with a fresh keyboard arrangement !
Other outstanding tracks on this album are "Seeking" and the powerful "Iniquity workers". His lyrics are thoughtful, serious and pointed at the world, and makes The Buffalo Soldier an ambassador for the sound and message of Jah music.

Teacher & Mr. T.