I Can't Get You Off My Mind (18 Greatest Hits At Studio One)
John Holt
September 25, 2006

Track list
  1. OK Fred
  2. Have You Ever Been In Love with The Paragons
  3. Anywhere (Extended Mix)
  4. My Sweet Lord
  5. Strange Things
  6. Happy Go Lucky Girl
  7. Change Your Style (aka Hooligans) with The Paragons
  8. Fancy Make Up
  9. My Satisfaction with The Paragons
  10. Holly Holy
  11. Darling I Need Your Loving
  12. I'll Be Lonely
  13. Stranger In Love
  14. I Can't Get You Off My Mind
  15. Soolaiman
  16. Tonight
  17. My Heart Is Gone
  18. Depth Of Love
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
"I Can't Get You Off My Mind: 18 Greatest Hits" is part of Heartbeat Records' series of Studio One re-releases and features classic rocksteady and early reggae tunes from John Holt, a true reggae legend and one of Jamaica's finest singers. At the peak of his career he was the coolest balladeer around and an inspiration to the 'Cool Ruler' himself as Gregory Isaacs has covered nuff John Holt tunes in his time.

John Holt started his career with the legendary vocal harmony group, the Paragons, which furthermore included Howard Barrett and the late Tyrone Evans. (Also Bob Andy was a founding member, but he had left the group by the time they joined Duke Reid's Treasure Isle stable). With the Paragons John Holt scored hit after hit in the rocksteady era including "My Best Girl", "The Tide Is High", "Happy Go Lucky Girl" and "Only A Smile".

After he had left the Paragons John Holt started to record for Coxsone Dodd's Studio One label and did some excellent work for the legendary producer, most notably the massive hits "Stanger In Love" and "A Love I Can Feel". The latter -- not including it here is a glaring omission! -- effectively versioned the Temptations' "Love I Can See" and became one of John Holt's signature tunes.

Great tracks such as "Tonight", "My Heart Is Gone" and "Stanger In Love" were recorded at the beginning of his solo career, when the ultra-smooth singer was obviously pulling out all the stops to establish his name as a solo artist. But these are not the only worthwhile efforts around. Here you'll also find sublime recordings such as the lively "Have You Ever Been In Love" (like many of the tracks here, presented in its original stereo mix), the Paragons do-over "Happy Go Lucky Girl", the wicked "Change Your Style (aka Hooligans)", "Fancy Make Up", My Satisfaction, "OK Fred" (successfully covered by Errol Dunkley), and the superb "Strange Things".

Any Studio One aficionado and also the old school reggae fan will love this collection of tunes!