I Grade
September 12, 2009

Chezidek - Inna Di Road Track list
Disc 1:
  1. Change
  2. Tonight
  3. Borderline
  4. No Surrender
  5. Who Start The War
  6. It's You Girl
  7. Devil Yuh Cah Bully Wi Out
  8. It's Not Over
  9. Girl I Like U In My Life
  10. Want More Love
  11. Keep I Rolling
  12. Righeous Name
  13. Black Woman
  14. Alone
Disc 2:
  1. Devil Dub
  2. Border Dub
  3. Change Dub
  4. Surrender Dub
  5. War Dub
  6. More Dub
  7. Rolling Dub
  8. Tonight Dub
  9. You Dub
  10. Over Dub
  11. Girl Dub
  12. Woman Dub
  13. Righteous Dub
  14. Lonely Dub
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 24-
Very Good -Votes: 7-
Good -Votes: 9-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 40
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Chezidek started singing from an early age at school concerts, and was a member of St. Annís Bay Marching Band. After finishing school he performed on sound systems in the area, as Chilla Rinch singing and DJing at various dance and talent shows. He always had a special love for positive cultural music and his African Roots, which lead him to Rastafari; his love for righteousness earned him the moniker Mel-Chezidek which he later drops the Mel and used only Chezidek.

He left St. Ann's Bay for Kingston where he linked up with producer Phillip "Fatis" Burrell from Xterminator Production, where he recorded his first album in the year 2002 entitled "Harvest Time", which included popular tracks such as "Can't Hear Must Feel", "Breakfree" and title track "Harvest Time", which got a lot of airplay in Jamaica and Europe. His first number one hit single "Leave The Trees" on the Our Promotion label, produced by his brethren Hugh Miller aka Bunny Dan, went on various reggae charts sending an environmental message. Since then Chezidek has released a few sizeable hit singles and the albums "Rising Sun" (2005), "Mash Dem Down" (2006), "Firm Up Yourself" (2007) and "Inna De Road" (2007).

And now, some two years after the release of the excellent "Inna De Road" album, the singer with the incomparable voice delivers a brand new collection of tunes which he recorded with the renown riddim twins Sly & Robbie for French producer Guillaume Bougard. "Inna De Road" not only brought Chezidek wider recognition and popularity, it also raised expectations high for its follow up. In reggae terms 'two years in the making' is a very long period of time, but it appears worth the wait. "I Grade" is a well balanced set from an artist whose vocal delivery has improved. On earlier albums he occasionally suffered from lapses in pitch, but here he manages to keep it consistent throughout.

The album opens very strong with "Change", an entertaining message tune with nice back up vocals, decent lyrics and an awesome riddim track. "Tonight" is a wonderful song that deals with matters of the heart, while "Borderline", coming across a revitalized version of the Melodians' "Come On Little Girl" riddim, is a powerful conscious piece. It's followed by the awesome "No Surrender", one of the album's standouts not least due to the heavy Sly & Robbie riddim that underpins this huge tune. All in all a great opening in which Chezidek's vocal and lyrical delivery comes off very good. Also the remaining tracks on this album have a consistent and persistently nice vibe and are worth of hearing. "Who Start The War" is a solid effort, "It's You Girl" is a real nice lovers tune and the hard-hitting "Devil Yuh Cah Bully Wi Out" -- on the same riddim as Horace Andy's "I'm Alive" (from his 2007 released "Livin' It Up" album) and Gregory Isaacs' "Poor Man In Love" -- can be reckoned amongst the highpoints, which furthermore include "Want More Love", the herb anthem "Keep I Rolling", and the cultural "Righteous Name".

"I Grade" is a very satisfying Chezidek album with nuff great tunes to enjoy, and the inclusion of a "dub companion" being a real nice addition.