Album review
I'm A Reggae Baby
Jean McLean
Reggae Baby
February 14 - 2005

Tracking list

  1. Reggaebaby Intro
  2. Killing Me Softly feat. Pato Banton
  3. I'm A Reggae Baby
  4. My Guy
  5. So In Love
  6. Baby You
  7. No One Can
  8. Stand Up
  9. I'm De One
  10. Goodbye
  11. Boyfriend
  12. Longtime
  13. Sweetman
  14. Have Faith feat. TL
  15. Baby You (Remix)
  16. Killing Me Softly (Remix) feat. Pato Banton
  17. Jus A Come
  18. He's My Man
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3

Jean McLean, born in Birmingham, England, delivers an album of which all tunes - except for Roberta Flack's hit tune "Killing Me Softly" - were written, arranged and produced by herself. This included the building of each individual sound track, eg. drums, percussion, bass and accompaniments. The most striking part of this cd is Jean McLean's distinctive voice, which is sweet and soulful, but above all clear and able to handle a variety of moods. Unfortunately some of the tunes included here suffer from lacklustre and 'cheap' sounding riddim tracks. But despite this we're treated to a nice collection of tunes that deal with love issues, human relations and struggles. Best tracks are "So In Love", "Baby You", "I'm De One" and "He's My Man". It's obvious that Jean McLean has the voice and the talent, if only she could get the opportunity to show her abilities on a well produced set on which she is backed by experienced musicians.

Teacher & Mr. T.