Roots Radics Meets Scientist & King Tubbys In A Dub Explosion
Roots Radics
Roots Records
May 20, 2007

Track list
  1. Roots Radics' World Dub
  2. Scientist's Earth Dub
  3. King Tubby's Moon Dub
  4. Roots Radics' Star Dub
  5. Scientist's Star Dub
  6. King Tubby's Snow Dub
  7. Roots Radics' Summer Dub
  8. Scientists' Winter Dub
  9. King Tubbys' Cloud Dub
  10. Roots Radics' Storm Dub
  11. Scientist's Hurricane Dub
  12. King Tubby's Earthquake Dub
  13. Scientist's Thunder Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : - Backing : 3 Production : 3 Sound quality : 3 Sleeve : 3
The good Steve Barrow of Blood and Fire gave me this album at the end of last year, and it has its fair selection of cold, hard, quasi avant garde gems to discover.

It is somewhat of an anachronism in some regards : it is presented as an early to mid 80's Scientist album -- but it sounds like a year 2007 studio engineer has reworked certain tones and frequencies.

The latter sounds a dodgy proposition -- but far from it. It works beautifully, rendering the bass tones crackling, fractured, and icy, transforming what sound like rather predictable Scientist dubs into something powerfully atmospheric.

The album opens with "Roots Radics World Dub" -- a "more fire" brimstone chant (from Capleton?) is spliced and mangled by the bass tones, before Style Scott's snares avalanche into the mix.

"Moon Dub" is a tranquil dissolving affair, with a rewind weaving it's way throughout the structure of the song, whilst snares, pianos and cymbals dissolve all around the bass. The tune sounds like Dub Syndicate's much under rated "One Way system" album.

Many of the other tunes sound like rough Greensleeves 12"s, or like the Groucho Smykle produced "Sly & Robbie: A Dub Experience" album.

It isn't all top notch -- there are some fairly predictable workouts here too, amongst the gems, but no doubting it, there are some raw and atmospheric dubs on the record. The album profiles the Radics drum and bass team on good form.

It is also worth noting here that Jah Thomas' albums on Silver Kamel released over the last two years featured some jazz horns work outs and some digital ambience, and are also equally strong quality selections.