Album review
Harry Mudie Presents I-Tek Paul : In Dub Conference
I-Tek Paul
January 6 - 2005

Tracking list

  1. Intro Preview
  2. African Culture Dub
  3. Bangbelly Dub
  4. Washbelly Dub
  5. Sunshine Dub
  6. Lucky Thing Dub
  7. Joyride Dub
  8. Judgement Dub
  9. Peoples Dub
  10. Asunder Dub
  11. Rock & Skank Dub
  12. Eternity Dub
  13. Praise To Jah Dub
  14. City Lights Dub
  15. Silky & Sweet Dub
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : - Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4

The three "In Dub Conference" albums producer Harry Mudie made with legendary dub pioneer King Tubby in the mid-seventies are outstanding and rank among the most thoughtfully mixed and original dub albums ever. Almost thirty years later there's a brand new "In Dub Conference" album on Mudie's Moodisc label. This time it's produced, arranged, recorded and mixed by Paul Gauntlett aka I-Tek Paul with mix supervision by Harry Mudie. I-Tek Paul, bass player and leader of the I-Tek Band, has compiled a dub album that contains just a tip of the iceburg of dub material that is stocked in his I-Tek Studio, which was built in 1990 in northwest Miami, Florida. Throughout the years the self taught musician and engineer has developed his skills further, and has worked in the studio or on stage with artists like Bob Andy, Freddie McGregor, Sugar Minott, Glen Washington, Sanchez and many more. His "In Dub Conference" album is a solid collection of echoladen dub pieces, mostly dominated by awesome heavyweight basslines and wicked drumrolls. Some of the dubs are based on classic riddims like for example "Sunshine Dub", which utilizes the same classic riddim that was revitalized for Freddie McGregor's "Key To The City". But besides that you'll also hear dubbed up original riddims. In all, an album that will surely satisfy the avid dub fan, even though it is doubtful that it will reach the status of its illustrious predecessors.

Teacher & Mr. T.