Tanya Stephens
Tarantula Records
(Free) CD
April 26, 2010

Track list
  1. Intro-Spection
  2. Train Of Thought (Get On It)
  3. No Strings Attached
  4. Bury A Bone
  5. Luv At First Grind
  6. Siddung Pon It
  7. Kiss My Brain
  8. Itty Bit O'Money
  9. Illusion
  10. Still Alive
  11. No Means No
  12. 4 Da Pain
  13. Infallible
  14. Just For Me
  15. More Than I Love You
  16. Try Me
  17. Turn It up
  18. Pull Up
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 31-
Very Good -Votes: 20-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 55
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
"Infallible", Tanya Stephens' much anticipated new album and the follow up to the 2006 released "Rebelution", has finally seen the light of day, and has exclusively been given away free with this month's edition (#49) of German's Riddim magazine.

Tanya Stephens is ranked as one of our 10 favourite contemporary artists, not least because she's one of the most competent lyricists today. Her lyrical delivery is full of imagery and direct down to the last detail, which sets her apart as a perfect storyteller. Besides that she possesses an instantly recognizable passionate edgy, bluesy voice that perfectly blends with the musical backing of her songs. Musically most tracks on this "Infallible" set are very similar to those featured on the "Gangsta Blues" and "Rebelution" albums. This implies that the warm, distinctive vibe of these two albums, and even more in case of "Infallible", not always immediately sounds like reggae.

Just like "Rebelution", this brand new collection of tunes gets off with a fulminating intro. Next up is "Train Of Thought (Get On It)", a solid tune which comes across a R&B flavoured backdrop with bluesy guitar licks. The strong "No Strings Attached", reminiscent of her hit song "These Streets", brings us the songstress/songwriter at her very best. The melancholic "Bury A Bone", a truly wonderful tune with a completely different vibe than the previous tunes, concludes the opening bit to Tanya Stephens' "Infallible". Overall a seamless opening which spearheads a well varied and expertly produced album. The remainder of this set maintains the high quality level throughout with "Luv At First Grind", "Siddung Pon It", "Itty Bit O'Money", "No Means No" and "4 Da Pain" being the shining stars. With the last three songs, "Try Me", "Turn It Up" and "Pull Up", Tanya Stephens shows that she's still capable of delivering decent dancehall tunes.

For those who don't belong to the privileged few (i.e. subscribers as well as those able to buy the Riddim magazine) who can get a hard copy of "Infallible", here's a link where you can listen and download the album for free. www.bymriddim.com