Infinite Quality
Lustre Kings
October 9, 2007

Midnite-Lustre Kings - Infinite Quality Track list
  1. Dew
  2. Right Here
  3. Infinite Quality
  4. Frequency
  5. Dem A Wondaa
  6. Attacking The Doves
  7. Mic Row Assemble
  8. Reala Law
  9. Before David
  10. Forgiven
  11. The Grounds
  12. Lose Everything
  13. Stay With His Majesty feat. Lutan Fyah
  14. More Love
  15. Dominion
  16. Hymns
  17. Provide
  18. Heal Yourself
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 43-
Very Good -Votes: 4-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 6-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 57
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3/4
Sometimes we get the feeling that it's almost impossible to keep up with new Midnite releases as they keep on coming month after month, week after week... This is reminiscent of what happened during the dancehall explosion of the early eighties when Jamaican artists like e.g. Frankie Paul and Sugar Minott delivered single after single and album after album. No problem with that as long as the good quality is maintained throughout and in case of Midnite it is (at least so far). The list of albums credited to Midnite is getting huge, real HUGE!! By now a notable part of those albums consists of collaborations of Midnite's leadsinger and songwriter Vaughn Benjamin with other bands and production houses.

"Infinite Quality" is Vaughn Benjamin's latest collaboration album, done in conjunction with Lustre Kings Productions. The latter, basically a two-person team run by founders, Andrew Bain (aka Digital Ancient) and Corinn Haskill, have worked with top Jamaican artists like Luciano, Yami Bolo, Warrior King, Freddie McGregor, Sizzla and Natural Black to name a few, and have released critical acclaimed full length albums of Lutan Fyah and Turbulence as well as some real good compilation albums.

The earlier this year released "Rastafari Unity EP" and also the "Red Razor Riddim" compilation already gave a good foretaste of what we could expect of a Midnite-Lustre Kings collaboration. Both included noteworthy efforts, firstly the wicked combination with Lutan Fyah entitled "Stay With His Majesty", a great cultural tune driven by a full sounding echo-laden roots riddim, and secondly the awesome "Hymns". These two tunes are included on this set as well and definitely belong to the album's highpoints.

But there's so much more to enjoy! The albums opens with the wonderful acoustic tune called "Dew", in which Vaughn Benjamin's vocal and lyrical delivery comes to full expression. From there the listener is taken on a thoroughly entertaining journey along lush and expertly arranged soundscapes. The musical backing for Vaughn Benjamin's searing lyrics and distinctive vocals is well varied and ranges from roots, dancehall to hip-hop.

Despite the fact that "Infinite Quality" contains 18 tracks with a total running time of 79:46 mins (!) it doesn't include fillers and never gets boring. The album features a lot of top-notch tracks including our personal favourites "Right Here", "Dem A Wondaa", "Reala Law", "More Love", "The Grounds", "Lose Everyting", "Before David", and of course the aforementioned tracks "Stay With His Majesty" and "Hymns".

A strong release that might bring Midnite to a far wider audience.