Album review
In The Flow
Scion Sashay Success
August 07 - 2003

Tracking list

  1. Life And Money
  2. Genocide featuring Sister Carol
  3. Love Sister Carol
  4. Minstrel
  5. Petti Petti Murderer background Murderer by Barrington Levy
  6. Anywhere You Go
  7. Make It Up To You
  8. Thanks And Praise
  9. General
  10. Tefnut harmony by Faahtimah
  11. Life In A Jail House
  12. Broad
  13. Pain A Back
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 5

Although over 20 years in the business, singer Scion Sashay Success has always been a little bit mysterious. Unknown to many and still sought after, questioned about and immortalized by some. Scion Sashay Success, real name George Narcisse, was born in Kingston, Jamaica W.I., were he grew up prior to his moving to New York in 1977. His first release was "Can't Leave Jah Alone/Dance Hall Queen" in 1983, for Jah Life Records of Brooklyn, New York. With this tune he gained notable attention and steadily built himself a name with his next tune "Put It On, Take It Off" and his first LP "Scion Sashay Success". He became Brooklyn's first "International Reggae / Dance Hall Singer" and was voted Best New Artist by Black Echoes of England in 1984. So far Scion has released six full length albums including his latest cd entitled "In The Flow". The latter is an entertaining compilation set featuring new as well as old tracks, some of them previously not available on cd. The solid "Minstrel" and also "Pain A Back" are taken from Scion's first Hyman Wright and Percy Chin produced album, while "Love Sister Carol" (on the "Jah Shakey/Far East" riddim) was featured on the limited edition pre-release "Prom" from 1994. The album opens in fine style with "Life And Money" and then its combination version "Genocide". Both are self-produced tunes delivered over the same "old skool" dancehall riddim. Following it up with "Love Sister Carol" is a nice idea. It's a real joy to hear one of the standouts on this album, "Petti Petti Murderer", leaping from the speakers. "Anyway You Go" is a matching cut and the same goes for "Make It Up To You", delivered across a refurnished version of John Holt's "Ali Baba" riddim. Also worth of hearing are "Thanks And Praise" and last year's single "General", a so-called soundbwoy tune produced by Ranking Joe. Compared with the other tracks featured here, "Tefnut" sounds somewhat out of order, but in the end it proves to be a decent tune. Next drops "Life In A Jail House", a great tune that definitely belongs to the standouts of this album. Before the excellent "Pain A Back" rounds off this noteworthy collection, we're treated to another nice soundbwoy tune entitled "Broad".

Teacher & Mr. T.