My Journey
DJ Frass Records / Tad's Records
CD / Digital Release
March 4, 2012

Track list
  1. Time Will Come
  2. Million Miles Away
  3. Stepping In The Name Of Love
  4. Babylon
  5. It's Alright feat. Gentleman
  6. Love You Like I Do
  7. I Will be There
  8. Mama
  9. Pressure
  10. Jah Jah Warrior
  11. A Yah Wi Deh feat. Ky-Mani Marley
  12. Lighters Up feat. Alaine
  13. My Story
  14. Blood A Go Run
  15. Jah Jah Mission
  16. Burn It
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 24-
Very Good -Votes: 10-
Good -Votes: 4-
Average -Votes: 3-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 42
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
Since hitting the reggae scene about five years ago, Clarendon born I-Octane has firmly established his name with songs such as his 2007 breakthrough hit "Stab Vampire" on Arrows, the Adrian & Steve Locke produced "Lose A Friend" for Truckback Records and the herb anthem "Puff It" for Cashflow Records, to name only three. Not counting the album "Thank You Father" (released by the Japanese Koyashi Kaikyu label in 2011), I-Octane delivers his second full length album called "My Journey", which follows up the 2012 released official debut set "Crying To The Nation". The latter collected tunes recorded for a variety of producers including Paul "Cashflow" Mitchell, Sean "Seanizzle" Reid, Christopher Birch, Jordan McClure & David Hayle of Chimney Records, Andre "DJ Frass" Gordon, Shaun "Zj Chrome" Chablal, Linton "TJ" White, Adrian & Steve Locke, and Robert Livingston. However, no recordings for a variety of producers are included on "My Journey" as this is a collaborative effort with his long-time friend and currently one of Jamaica's ace producers, Andre "DJ Frass" Gordon.

Although "My Journey" contains a few previously released tunes, much of the material on I-Octane's sophomore album is fresh, and that's a big strength. The uplifting conscious tune "Time Will Come" kicks off an album that mainly consists of message tunes. However, a few nice efforts dealing with lovers themes are included as well. After the solid "Time Will Come" it's a joy to listen to the beautiful "Million Miles" with its nice guitar picking, synth strings, and great lyrics that keep you involved till the very end. The one-drop reggae-based tune "Stepping In The Name" is a matching next piece, while the powerful "Babylon" keeps the reggae vibes flowing in great style. Then it's time for "It's Alright", a collaboration with German reggae star Gentleman. It's a noteworthy song that comes on the slight R&B/Jazz-tinged "Cane River" riddim.

"Love You Like I Do", the first love song and also the first single taken from the album, has been well received and already got huge radio play worldwide. It's a nice effort, but it definitely doesn't come near to the wonderful "I Will Be There". The latter makes a far better impression and belongs to the standouts. Halfway the album we're once again treated to a song in which the artist praises his "Mama". Not a bad song, but lyrically nothing here we haven't heard before. "Pressure", a solid song full of consciousness, comes in next, followed by the wicked roots tune "Jah Jah Warrior". Ky-Mani Marley joines I-Octane on "A Yah Wi Deh", which comes on a militant riddim with a marching drum sound. The duet with Songstress Alaine, "Lighters Up", has a nice dancehall vibe and surely has hit potential. Then it's time for the dark sounding "My Story", a nice sufferer's tune, which is followed by the excellent "Blood A Go Run" on the "Times Square" riddim. A big tune, as is also "Jah Jah Mission" on the "Diamonds And Gold" riddim. The album is rounded off in real fine style with the ganja tune "Burn It".

All in all I-Octane's "My Journey" has enough memorable songs to make this set worthwhile purchasing.