Irie Révoltés
Skycap Records - Rough Trade
March 24, 2006

Track list
  1. Papiers
  2. Pour Tout Ceux feat. Wonda Prince
  3. Ma Voix feat. Chaoze One
  4. Mouvement
  5. Dans La Salle
  6. Resistencia
  7. Rebelles
  8. Ready feat. Tony-L
  9. Ton Chemin
  10. Solidarisation feat. Paco Mendoza
  11. Soldats
  12. Soleil
  13. Voyage
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4/5 Sleeve : 4/5
I know it can hardly be called anything but belated, but after the nice single "Soleil" drew attention to Irie Révoltés' sophomore album "Voyage", here's the review of the full length release. Founded in the fall of 2000, the band around German-French brothers Pablo 'Mal Élevé' and Carlos 'Carlito' Charlemoine and rapper Andreas 'Silence' Spreier has been known since their earliest live performances and 2002 debut album "Les Deux Cotés" for their eclectic and energetic mix of reggae, dancehall, hip hop and even funk with socially critical lyrics, not too surprising if you realize that the second part of the bandname is French for rebels. With the album's opener "Papiers" speaking out against letting people die waiting to cross the borders and "Pour Tout Ceux" featuring Wonda Prince about the hypocrisy of a society just pretending to be caring about those in misery over an uptempo reggaeton influenced dancehall riddim and "Ma Voix" about crying without being heard, a beautiful ballad featuring Chaoze One the social engagement of Irie Révoltés is more than clear. "Mouvement" is a big bouncing tune with an upful message, followed by the ska-influenced jump up dancehall of "Dans La Salle" and the call to never stop resisting evil regimes over a one drop "Resistencia". More dancehall fever in "Rebelles" speaking out against (a.o.) homophobia in the dancehalls and the electro-funk dancehall tune "Ready" featuring Tony-L. "Ton Chemin" is a brilliant ballad about the way we'll all have to find, and will find once we overcome our fears, before Raggabund's El Criminal a.k.a. Paco Mendoza joins Irie Révoltés for the excellent "Solidarisation". "Soldats" is another rough uptempo dancehalltune, followed by the excelled single "Soleil" before the album is closed with the title tune "Voyage" rounding off a very nice second album by Irie Révoltés, who are one of very few bands able to capture their energetic live performances in the studio. Do give this fine album a listen, even if your French is as bad as mine.