Isat Innat (Fire Mamma)
Empress Ayeola
Gaddamaweh Productions
July 15, 2006

Track list
  1. Jah Jah Love
  2. Rastafafari Works
  3. Higher an Higher
  4. Sattamassagana
  5. Take care Of Our Children
  6. Priceless
  7. My Father Protects Me feat. Lutan Fyah
  8. From The Day You Gone
  9. Ketch Him Heng Him
  10. De Youths Of Today
  11. Are We Living feat. Duchy P.
  12. Give It Up
  13. Warring
  14. No Carnal Mind
  15. Boundless Love
  16. The Wicked Shall Perish
  17. Let Me Be Babylon
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 4 Production : 4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 3
Empress Ayeola (it's Yoruba meaning "joy and wealthy life") presents herself to the record buying reggae massive with "Isat Innat" (Ethiopian Amharic for "Fire Mamma"), her debut album released by Gaddamaweh Productions.

Empress Ayeola (real name Jannette Reid) was born in England and at the tender age of two she migrated to Jamaica where she grew up. She started developing her talents as a teenager when she attended music classes with Sonia Spence, the latter known from tracks like "I Am Leaving On A Jet Plane" and "No Charge". Empress Ayeola was soon working with Jamaican Rhino Record label musicians such as The Fire House Crew and later, the Three Mile Record label in London. Her fire-woman binghireggae repertoire includes "Hear The Cry" featuring Jah Mason, "Heads Of Babylon" with Jah Mali, "De Youths Of Today" and "Boundless Love" featured on Sandy Thompson's Africa River Nile label, both also included on this debut set. Over the last four years she has performed in various European countries as well as in the U.S., sharing stages with Mighty Diamonds, Pat Kelly, Sugar Minott, Jah Mason, Capleton, Beres Hammond, Marcia Griffiths, Sister Carol and others, which increased the popularity and reputation of the 'Fire Mamma' as she is also known.

On her 17 track album Empress Ayeola showcases her considerable talents as a conscious vocalist and songwriter. After listening to her singing and unique delivery it's obvious that she can easily take her place amongst reggae's greatest female artists like for example Marcia Griffiths and Judy Mowatt. Besides showing energy in her voice and lyrics, there's also a certain sweetness in her melodies, which makes her delivery a real treat for the ears. "Isat Innat" features songs full of love, joy, and respect for the teachings of HIM Emperor Haile Selassie I. Of course not every track included here is a real strong effort, but to be honest... this can't be expected from a debut release! However there are only a few mediocre tracks around, the remaining tunes are solid to excellent pieces including our personal favourites "Rastafari Works", the wonderful "Take Care Of Our Children", the dub-poetry influenced "Warring", "The Youths Of Today", "The Wicked Shall Perish", "Let Me Be Babylon" and the outstanding "Ketch Him Heng Him".

Overall "Isat Innat" is an uncompromising debut album with relevant topical songs from an songstress of whom we will surely hear much more good music in the near future.