Album review
I Shall Not Remove
Cornell Campbell
Blood & Fire
12 - 02 - 2000

Tracking list

  1. The Gorgon (extended)
  2. The Gorgon Speaks (extended)
  3. The Conquering Gorgon
  4. Lion Of Judah (extended)
  5. I Shall Not Remove (extended)
  6. Natty Dread In A Greenwich Town (extended)
  7. Forward Natty Dread (extended)
  8. Dance In A Greenwich Farm (megamix)
    part two : The Chalice Blaze-Dr.Alimentado
    part three : Dancing Roots-King Tubby & The Aggrovators
  9. Two Face Rasta (extended)
  10. Righteous Rastaman (extended)
  11. Bandulu / Hard Time (featuring Ranking Dread)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 5

"I Shall Not Remove 1975-1980" is another faultless reggae revive release from the Blood & Fire label covering the years 1975-1980 and featuring vocalist Cornell Campbell under the guidance of ace producer Bunny "Striker" Lee.
Cornell Campbell started his career at the end of the 50's cutting some tunes for Coxsone Dodd like "Under The Old Oak Tree", "Old King Cole" and "My Treasure". A few years later he was singing in a duo with Roy Panton -"Salvation" and "Sweetest Girl" were cut for veteran soundman Vincent "King" Edwards - but none of these early efforts enjoyed much success beyond the sound system circuit. By 1968 Cornell Campbell became lead vocalist -as Don Cornell- of The Eternals. For Harry Mudie the group recorded the immortal "Let's Start Again" and "Christmas Joy". Both tunes feature his beautiful falsetto, which now combined a purity of tone that echoed Curtis Mayfield's with a soulful delivery influenced by Sam Cooke. Shortly after, the group recorded the classic "Stars / Queen Of The Minstrell" at Studio One. In 1972 Cornell Campbell teamed up with the producer who would give him the biggest success of his career so far, Bunny "Striker" Lee, who saw him partly as a replacement for the great Slim Smith, after that singer's unfortunate death in 1973. His first album was issued only in the UK in early 1974 and featured covers of The Elgins' "Put Yourself In My Place", Eddie Floyd's "I Never Found A Girl", Delroy Wilson's "Trying To Conquer Me" and "Stardust". Furthermore the album included a new version of Curtis Mayfield's "Minstrel & Queen".
Producer Bunny "Striker" Lee was nicknamed "The Gorgon" by deejay Bunny Remus of El Toro Hi-Fi Sound System, after the the mythological monster. This nickname inspired a series of Cornell Campbell tunes on the "Gorgon" theme. The Gorgon - here featured in an extended mix, utilises Derrick Morgan's rocksteady boast "The Conqueror", was originally made as a special for the Hookim Brothers Channel One Sound System, for a clash with a rival sound called 'Mello Canary'. It was a huge hit in 1975 and was quickly followed by The Gorgon Speaks. This song adapted the 'You Wrong / So Long' riddim and features an intro by Tappa Zukie. The final song in the "Gorgon" series adapted an old hymn and was cut both as The Conquering Gorgon and in a rasta version as Lion Of Judah.
The follow up, I Shall Not Remove derived from 'I Shall Not Be Moved'. When Bob Marley issued his celebratory "Natty Dread" on a 45 early in 1975, Cornell and Lee responded with Natty Dread In A Greenwich Town". Dance In A Greenwich Farm originally was a special for use on the sound system scene. It features a riddim track laid at Randy's in late 1974. The record became so popular that even the originator -Coxsone Dodd, licked over the riddim with Sugar Belly's "Over Dub A". Forward Natty Dread revisited Delroy Wilson's Studio One ska classic "King Pharaoh". The disc closes with Bandulu and adapts elements of the US folk song 'Tom Dooley' over a George Fullwood bassline influenced by the part played by Robbie Shakespeare on Black Uhuru's "Shine Eye Girl". The track also features Ranking Dread's Hard Time.
The package is as beautiful as ever -nice b/w pictures and extended sleeve notes. Most of the songs are extended mixes of the original cuts and feature musicians such as Sly & Robbie, Santa Davis, Bobby Ellis, Tommy McCook, Touter Harvey, Earl 'Chinna ' Smith, Earl 'Wire' Lindo, George Fullwood, Tony Chin and Lennox Brown.

Teacher & Mr. T.