I-Ternal Fire
VP Records
June 22, 2010

I-Ternal Track list
  1. Some Day
  2. Acres
  3. When I Come To Town
  4. Same Old Story
  5. Mama You Strong
  6. Iím In Love
  7. Babylon Go Down
  8. It's On
  9. Global War
  10. Call I
  11. All Is Well
  12. Them Get Corel
  13. Long Way
  14. Blessing
  15. 400 Years
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 13-
Very Good -Votes: 16-
Good -Votes: 3-
Average -Votes: 1-
Disappointing -Votes: 1-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 1-

Total votes : 35
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
It took a very, very long time for King Shango aka Capleton to come up with the follow up of his 2004 released "Reign Of Fire" album. In retrospective that album more or less rounded of the artist's heyday of the late nineties and the first half of the noughties. In those days Capleton and also Sizzla belonged to the most in demand Jamaican artists and thus they flooded the reggae market with countless 7" singles on countless labels. Don't exactly know the reason why Capleton became less popular in recent years. Was it the change in the reggae landscape where 7" vinyl out of Jamaica was forced to make way for downloads, both legal or otherwise, or was it simply a decline of interest in Capleton and his fire spitting messages that pushed him somewhat into the background? Anyway, here's the Bobo chanter's brand new album called "I-ternal Fire" which will surely find its way to his stalwart fans.

This collection of tunes doesn't break new ground, but in comparison with his previous albums Capleton returns with a more melodic style as is instantly showcased by the very nice album opener, "Some Day", in which he gives praises to the Most High. Also no hardcore oriented dancehall tunes around, but simply a set with strictly modern roots efforts. Capleton's utilizes his well known raw, growling vocal delivery for "Acres", a solid ganja tune coming across a wicked riddim, while he utilizes both vocal styles in the outstanding "When I Come To Town". All in all a great way to start off an album.

Next drops the almost subdued but because of that extremely strong single "Same Old Story" across the Kemar "Flava" McGregor produced "Rub-A-Dub" riddim. Very much in the same vein, but even more mellow is the nice "Mama You Strong". Although vocally and riddimwise the lovers piece "I Am In Love" is a more powerful effort, it doesn't leave a serious impression. "Babylon Goes Down" brings in the fiery Capleton we know from his heydays. Then comes the full sounding "It's On", a solid tune with lyrics that just like most of the other tracks fully shows that Capleton is a gifted lyricist.

We're halfway the 18 tracks and it's obvious Capleton has put much time and effort in his 'comeback' album as the listener is treated to well arranged songs, 'live' played full sounding original riddims and female backing vocals. And it doesn't stop here! "Global War" and the hard hitting "Call I" belong to the highlights, while "All Is Well" is a matching tune. A completely different, but nevertheless huge vibe comes with the wonderful "Them Get Corel". Worth hearing is the awesome "Long Way", which is followed by the solid "Blessing" and the above par "400 Years".

Overall opinion is that Capleton reaffirms his status as topnotch Jamaican artist with this well varied album.