Album review
I've Got A Joy
Mounia Sahara
Silver Globe Records
July 26 - 2004

Tracking list

  1. Rasta
  2. I've Got A Joy (English Version)
  3. Jah Is For Us
  4. Destiny
  5. The Mark
  6. Hold On
  7. I've Got A Joy (French Version)
  8. Mama Africa
  9. The Time
  10. Deliver We
  11. What Type Of World
  12. I've Got A Joy (Spanish Version)
  13. Thank You
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 4 Backing : 3/4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4

Born in Morocco, North Africa, Mounia 'Sahara' Ezzahar aka The African Princess migrated to Canada with her parents at the tender age of two years old. She was surrounded by music constantly, due to the fact that her father was the bass player for a group called The Box. Mounia was always playing with the instruments and singing with her dad as she grew older. At age ten, she entered her first Young Talent Contest and won the event. She continued singing for a period of time until she lost interest for some time pursuing other endeavors. It took the insistence of her husband and producer Delroy "Silvanus" Roberts to convince her to start recording and to make this album. "I've Got A Joy" treats the listener to thirteen genuine-sounding conscious reggae tracks, including three language versions of the title track. These songs of faith, love and perseverance are delivered over original riddims by a talented singer who shows that she posesses a nice distinctive voice. Musical styles range from 'old skool' oriented roots to gently dancehall flavoured outings. Best tracks are "Jah Is For Us", the previous single "The Mark", "Mama Africa", "The Time", "Deliver We" and "I've Got A Joy".
All in all Mounia Sahara delivers a fairly decent collection of tunes on her debut album.

Teacher & Mr. T.          Buy the CD