Acoustic Frequency
Irievibrations Records
CD / Digital Release
January 26, 2015

Track list
  1. Frequency
  2. Soul Collide
  3. Controller feat. Apple Gabriel
  4. Don't Shoot feat. Kabaka Pyramid & Raphael
  5. Strong Man feat. Horace Andy
  6. Fail Hard
  7. Better Days feat. Dub Inc.
  8. Single Hand
  9. Echo
  10. World Citizen feat. Shaggy
  11. The Great Forgetting feat. Zafayah (Bonus Track)
  12. Controller (Syrix Dub) (Bonus Track)
  13. Strong Man (Umberto Echo Dub Mix) (Bonus Track)
  14. Calling For Rights (Syrix Dub) (Bonus Track)
Rate this album!
Cast your vote below.

Essential -Votes: 2-
Very Good -Votes: 0-
Good -Votes: 0-
Average -Votes: 0-
Disappointing -Votes: 0-
A Waste Of Time -Votes: 0-

Total votes : 2
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 4/5 Backing : 4/5 Production : 4/5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
It's commonly known that some reggae aficionados truly dislike acoustic reggae albums. The reason for that, they say, is that it lacks the drum & bass, which is widely regarded as the backbone of reggae music. But anyway, since the beginning of the new millennium we've seen a whole heap of acoustic albums hitting the streets. It can't be denied that Makasound's "Inna De Yard" series turned out to be quite successful and to a certain degree this might have inspired artists like Gentleman, Tarrus Riley, Richie Spice, Clinton Fearon and Toots & The Maytals to come up with an acoustic album.

"Acoustic Frequency" by Jahcoustix is another collection of acoustic or unplugged reggae songs, although this isn't a totally acoustic album because the four previously unreleased bonus tracks have the full production sound with drums, bass, keyboards, etc. The four bonus tracks certainly are no fillers. In particular worth hearing is Syrix's excellent dub version of the collaboration with Apple Gabriel called "Controller", while also "Strong Man" with Horace Andy gets a great dub treatment by Umberto Echo. Also don't overlook "The Great Forgetting", with a guest appearance of reggae artist and producer from Bulgaria, Zafayah. The ten regular tracks on this albums include eight tunes from the Frequency" album plus two brand new acoustic recordings: "Single Hand" and "World Citizen", the latter done in collaboration with pop/reggae star Shaggy. The orchestration of these tracks blends acoustic guitars, Rhodes & Hammond organs as well as percussions. And it's truly amazing that Jahcoustix not only uses his voice for doing the lead vocals, but also to re-create the brass lines from the original "Frequency" album with a mouth-trumpet flavor. Personal favourite tunes are "Frequency", "Soul Collide", "Single Hand" and "Controller".

Overall opinion is that you don't even need to like reggae to fully enjoy this album. It's all around good listening.