Album review
Injagtion EP
Danger League
16 - 09 - 2003

Tracking list

    Side A
  1. Everyday (vocal)
  2. Do It Right Now (vocal)
  3. Tied Up Skirt (vocal)
  4. Spell On You (vocal)
  5. Che Guitara (vocal)
  6. Fade Away (vocal)

  7. Side B
  8. Everyday (instrumental)
  9. Do It Right Now (instrumental)
  10. Tied Up Skirt (instrumental)
  11. Spell On You (instrumental)
  12. Che Guitara (instrumental)
  13. Fade Away (instrumental)
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)

Vocals : 3/4 Backing : 4 Production : 3/4 Sound quality : 4 Sleeve : 3/4

Stephan 'Jagger' Jaeger debuted in the fall of 2003 with this "Injagtion EP" on the Danger League label out of Kassel, Germany. "Everyday" is a typical hip hop tune to my dancehall ears, but with a nice hip hop flow when rapping, unfortunately weaker when singing, and a fine riddim featuring a flute, that really sounds well produced. "Do It Right Now" has a melodic slow hip hop riddim backing the question why do it right now. Red Rat's "Tight Up Skirt" is sampled to full effect in the convincing dancehall/hip hop-crossover "Tied Up Skirt" before the beat slows down and returns to hip hop or even further for the almost triphop of "Spell On You" with its dark lyrics about witches and dead people walking. "Che Guitara" features a nice spanish guitar, and some well chosen horn riffs, but the sung/rap lyrics about the underground seem to be a bit too raw sounding for the backing. The vocal side closes with the funky relaxing sounds of "Fade Away", about the way we play. The instrumentals on the B-side surely show that Nodhead Production, the force behind the beats, has done an adequate job. This EP is with the exception of "Tied Up Skirt" only for the hip hop minded, but with a more clear own style, Jagger might still surprise us in the near future.


/ Souljah Green Beret Productions