Jahcoustix & The Outsideplayers
Jahcoustix & The Outsideplayers
Modern Soul - Soulfood Music
July 4, 2008

Track list
  1. Another Day
  2. Circulate
  3. Come In My World
  4. Don't Worry
  5. Music
  6. Greetings
  7. No Garden Eden
  8. Good Things
  9. End Of The Day
  10. Soulpower
  11. Open Book
Rating : from 5 (excellent) to 1 (poor)
Vocals : 5 Backing : 5 Production : 5 Sound quality : 5 Sleeve : 4
During a tour in October 2006, five musicians gathered up to lay the cornerstone of what would become this Jahcoustix and the Outsideplayers album, beginning with a simple sunny afternoon jam session recorded on 8-track in the backyard of one of the tour locations. This lasted throughout the tour and by the end of the tour enough stuff had been recorded for nearly a whole album. Upon relistening everyone involved was totally enthusiastic about the vibes and the flair and thus decided to take the jam sessions as the foundation for a complete studio recording, with the intention to stick to the way the whole project begun meaning recording live and direct but most important of all, it had to be taped outside. When by spring 2007, the perfect location had been found, a studio in the roof of an old barn with a nice balcony in the middle of nowhere, this album was recorded in just 3 days.

And thus the in Bonn, Germany born Dubios Neighbourhood singer and solo artist Dominik 'Jahcoustix' Haas, Ruffcats & Tiger HiFi percussionist Uwe Breunig, Tiger HiFi's female vocalist Olivia Christou, the original Far East and now Germaicans keyboard playerMatscher and Berlin's experimental soul, rap and reggae singer Miss Flint teamed up as (Jahcoustix &) The Outsideplayers and with the aid of engineer Sven Peks in his studio they recorded these 11 beautiful songs. Very soulful, acoustic and energetic reggae with great lead and backing vocals by Jahcoustix, Olivia and Miss Flint make this the perfect soundtrack for your sultry summernights. There's even a wonderful uptempo ska-tinged song "Music" but the whole vibe is still the same throughout the album, breathing the enormous fun the members of the Outsideplayers must have had recording it. Other standout tunes are the ballad "Come In My World", the self-boasting 'Outsideplayers' story "Greetings", the alternately minimalisticly and typical Bob Marley & the Wailers late 70s style backed "Soulpower" as well as the closer "Open Book". But the other songs are almost as beautiful and this simply is an album you must have heard (and then should buy).